We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy”
Review of Cafe Sud

Cafe Sud
Reserve with
Cafe Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #509 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $223
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Your culinary journey starts while seating at your table in a refined and intimate atmosphere. The décor elegantly features soothing colours punctuated by shelves and antique books, which provide added character to the venue. Chef, previously working at the Vivarois, shares his culinary expertise through innovative, tasteful and light combinations- for a gastronomic rewarding experience You will indulge with an inventive and contemporary cuisine consisting of a selection of classic dishes subtly updated through spicy accents. Wine lovers will enjoy intense fragrances and tastes featured in the generous wine list.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It was my third time in Cafe Sud and again I am not dissapointed. Together with my partner we have chosen the 3 course dinner menu. Foie gras was fantastic. The beef was a little bit too raw for our taste and tuna had a bit lack of taste. Deserts were amazing. So overall - we had a good time, recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_F-ova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    99
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rip off or genuine error??”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A fairly small restaurant with a good atmosphere and very tasty cooking. Very popular - booking ahead is advised for the evening.
We both selected enjoyable dishes from the 3 course, 50 euro menu. The flamed crème brulees are a star attraction! Overall, we thought it good value.
The cost of additions, such as starter kirs, bottle of water and speciality coffees to finish with were high, but this we expected. What was not expected was an additional charge of 20 euros for our desserts - as well as 100 euros for two menus. When we pointed this out, we were told that we were correct and the bill was whisked away to be replaced with one for the correct amount. No apology.
We were left feeling somewhat disillusioned to have been possibly subjected to a "let's rip-off the English tourists" try-on; but not completely sure that we aren't getting too old and cynical over a genuine error from busy staff.
Anyway: recommended for the food and atmosphere, but check your bill carefully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice flavours. Service to improve.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The food in Cafe Sud is really delicious and worth its price. The service was a bit 'nonchalant'. We missed some flexibility and customer-minded thinking. One of their deserts 'Cafe Gourmand' is a selection of small pastries. This desert comes together with a coffee. When I asked the waiter to replace the coffee by a tea (as I don't drink coffee), this was not possible as 'tea is more expensive than coffee'. A restaurant of this level should not lose its face in these details. Finally, the waiter realised this and did serve me a tea. So in the end no issue, but it's a pity to have a discussion about some boiled water with a tea bag. Overall, really good food, but the service can be better at this price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An enjoyable evening with a lovely waitress who looked after us all. The fois gras and toasts were great, the beef juicy and the potatoes just right. It's not a see and be seen resto, just a well-designed, comfortable and enjoyable dinner - especially good if you are dining with colleagues. Wine selection was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yul-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
testelt
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant was advised to us by the hotel staff.
The menu was very nice - price quality / ratio very good.
We were very well served and treated ; it is a nice cosy location. Nice wine card too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christiane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sud also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing