We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Breakfast in Paris”

Breakfast in America
Ranked #2,950 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Herent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“American Breakfast in Paris”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had breakfast here on a weekend break to Paris last week, after having tried the other Breakfast in America on the Rue des Ecoles last time we were in Paris.
We went for breakfast on a Friday at 11:00 am, so the place was pretty much empty - but I do understand that it can get quite busy in the weekends etc.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast is definitely authentic American. I haven't found proper french toast or home fries anywhere else in Europe yet - but here it was on the mark! I would definitely come back for breakfast again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    164
    84
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely not breakfast in america ..”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I came here with an American girlfriend of mine, and was quite frankly not impressed! We were told to wait outside by a bossy waitress who was not polite and welcoming at all. Then we were sat on a tiny table, and took ages to be served.
On about the 5th attempt to get served, we ordered, but they forgot our toast and water. So I had to put my hand up again. The "Obama" milkshake was great, but don't get the 2 by 2 by 2. The 2 shrivelled up pieces of bacon were most unattractive, and the scrambled eggs were hard and rubbery. The pancakes were OK.
But otherwise, don't waste your time. You're better off grabbing a delicious pastry from a top-notch patisserie!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darcey Rose Eli... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walked a long way to get there, wish I hadn't bothered !”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived about 3pm we were ushered next door to a sort of annex . Even though this is I guess American owned and in an upmarket district of Paris it was very shabby not shabby chic ! We were sat near door which had a tatty curtain over the door in an attempt to stop draughts which it didn't do well. So much so that a couple of girls nearer door had there own private electric heater at their knees. Not too safe I think ? At my wife's shoulder was a toaster which was plugged in and the girl next to us was oblivious that her hair was inches from being well done . When we asked for safety sake it be unplugged and moved , we were giggled at . On a better note the food was both filling and reasonably priced especially for overpriced Paris. A young American waiter was the only professional thing about the service . Maybe once,this place was worth a visit but until they upgrade a few things, decor and safety mainly, it won't be seeing me again. If ifs trying to be a budget Hard Rock Cafe it's got a long long way to go .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average, nothing special”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What you can expect due to the prices, ok! No "home made" feeling at all, unfortunately... Nice atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsannacarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“a slice of america”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

timing was right so i headed for bia for an early lunch...had an obama shake, a vanilla shake with chocolate and peanut butter swirls + a cheeseburger....loved the americaness of the experience and would recommend it to anyone who has been in paris for awhile...wait person was an american working for an advanced degree in global communications and seemed to enjoy waiting on americans....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast in America also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Breakfast in America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing