We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un Petit Bijou!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petel - CLOSED

Le Petel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Un Petit Bijou!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Beautiful authentic restaurant. A little expensive but worth it for a non-tourist experience! The food was beautiful (although my husband's cote du boef was a little too gristly) and all beautifully cooked. The pistachio fondant dessert was just heavenly but be warned if you are having the Rhum Baba - it's literally soaked with rum and takes your breath away! Very little English is spoken which is just how we like it and the service and ambiance were both excellent :)

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaloNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Authentic French bistro, friendly staff, reasonable prices, excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

visited Le Petel after searching for restaurant in the 15th close to our hotel. We made a reservation the evening before just in case as we wanted to eat there on a Saturday evening. Restaurant opens at 7.30pm and we were seated and eating by 7.45pm! French menu however waiter explained anything we particularly wanted to know in English - very helpful. 3 persons we all had entree and main meals then shared 2 desserts including one bottle wine and 3 small Perriers - total cost about 140Euros.
Small restaurant - nice interior, easy to find and walked out the front door to a magnificent view of the Eiffel tower.
Easy walk to metro. If you are in the area and looking for reasonably priced French bistro then take the time to visit Le Petel and you will not be disappointed. Food was very nice and serves decent size, service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mytimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

found this little gem on a visit to paris last weekend (had read reviews prior on trip advisor).

was not disappointed - the food, service, staff and atmosphere were excellent - very french and very quaint. would recommend it to anyone who is staying nearby.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

A great experience!
Fantastic food, great ambience and good staff!
I strongly recommend this little cozy place....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomrichard1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

really good food! We booked this place thanks to TA and it did not disappoint. I would never have found it otherwise. Very friendly staff and great food at a reasonable price for Paris. The dishes were beautifully presented (the ravioles de moules starter was delicious) and the cote de boeuf with dauphiniose potatoes was very good value for only a €3 supplement, as the steak was enormous, tender and cooked to perfection! Sadly we could not manage desserts, so we'll save that for next time.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pippart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing