We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paris Favorite”
Review of Tien Hiang

Tien Hiang
Ranked #643 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Paris Favorite”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Delicious vegetarian food at a reasonable price- what more can you ask for? My non-vegetarian friends enjoy going here as much as I do. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 656fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    102
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Novel way of serving vegetarian dishes”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Novel way of serving vegetarian dishes – a combination of cuisines from Vietnam, Thailand, South China and Malaysian. Its novel because, the menu lists the dishes which are all non-vegetarian but there is no meat other than the titles. The recipes contain no egg, no alcohol or any product which is non vegetarian, and all priced modestly. The chef uses tofu and soya in abundance, but then again they substitute the meat and act as mock meat.
I second most of the reviewer’s opinions. Don’t look for any frills/fancies in ambiance, if you are the kinds who seek good food priced reasonably. It’s the place for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaitz_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Gets, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

wonderful people, great atmosphere, outstanding food, amazing value. We were lucky in that we got one of the last tables, after us, people were queuing at the door - this tells you how good the restaurant is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chalets1066LeLapye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good range of South-Asian dishes with quite a lot offered with meat or fish substitute.

All classics (Thai Papaya salad, Sticky rice) tasted a bit different from the ones I had in London or in Asia.

It was OK, great to have a vegetarian restaurant in Paris but not sure how much I would go again: the waiters/waitresses are little gloomy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed experience of Eastern Vegan cuisine”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Me and my wife ate here and both enjoyed eating the food - but she had food poisoning about 7 hours later and was quite ill for the following 24hrs (and is still not fully well as I write this).

The food was reasonably priced and very tasty, and seemed to be fully vegan albeit from a slightly confusingly worded menu (using words like "beef", "chicken" etc, though it was all tofu/TVP) Having more than our 'petit peu de Francais' would have helped us, as would a simpler, more clearly worded menu.

We ordered a starter (4€), main (8€) and a drink. The starter arrived surprisingly quickly and as such is the main suspect for the food poisoning source - my wife had some ravioli like parcels which looked like they could have been re-heated, whilst my soup was very hot and contained fresh looking ingredients.

Without the food poisoning I would have given this place a 4 or 5 stars as the food was very tasty and such a find for non-meat eaters in carnivore-centric Paris.

The place was empty when we arrived (~6:45 pm - early for French diners?) and with its DIY/drab decor looked a bit sad. Within 15 mins though it began to fill up amazingly quickly with younger Parisiens and by the time of our leaving we struggled to get thru the crowd to exit!

A shame about the food poisoning - this may have been a freak occurrence, or caused by a food hygiene lapse. I would definitely visit again, but would be armed with better French and more curiosity about their food preparation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tien Hiang also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Tien Hiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing