We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere!”
Review of Le Plomb du Cantal

Le Plomb du Cantal
Ranked #754 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $29 - $117
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

In the heart of Montparnasse, Le Plomb du Cantal was buzzing and packed with locals. We sat at the bar with a glass of cold Rose for max 10 minutes before we were seated. There was a constant queue waiting to dine on this Saturday night.
We both had the rib eye steak and the garlic potatoes which is the signature dish of the house. The food was delicious but the potato portion is huge and you could easily share.
All the staff are very friendly and happy to explain the menu and its regional choices to you.
Lovely quality steak, great service and 10/10 for the fantastic atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    608
    183
    68
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hearty fare, great service, not for those on a diet!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After scouring trip advisor for a decent restaurant in the Montparnasse area of Paris, we came across this gem not too far from our hotel. I think it's fair to say that meat features heavily on the menu as does a dish called Truffade, which is based around potatoes, garlic and lots of cheese. My wife had the duck and I had the steak, both dishes coming with what seemed like half a tonne of Truffade. The food was very good, if not a little calorific and the service was excellent. I certainly recommend if you have a hearty appetite and fancy trying out traditional Auvergne fare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigtuna, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“You'll leave with a smile on your face”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Plomb du Cantal is the highest peak in the Cantal mountain range and is also an Auvergnois restaurant near "Gaîté" next to Montparnasse. Plomb also means lead in French and when you leave the restaurant it certainly feels as if your stomach has been filled up with something heavy.
The Auvergne and L'Aubrac regions are known for their hearty meals; sausages and duck dishes mixed with potatoes and cheese and this restaurant certainly won't disappoint those who seek all of that.
The servings can best be described as copious and even without dessert I walk away stuffed. If you order the aligot or truffade and ask nicely, they'll bring more free of charge.
Le Plomb du Cantal is a great place to go out with friends. You eat at very reasonable prices and the atmosphere is great. A meal with wine is around 15-20 Euro per person. The place is crowded, crammed and loud - romantic conversations don't do well here but I doubt that that is their target audience.
The food served here is very heavy and takes a week to digest; Aligot which is a potato mash with loads of melted cheese and garlic; Truffade which is sliced/scalloped potatoes slow cooked in goose fat (!) with "tomme fraiche" cheese added; confit du canard prepared to perfection; and those Auvergne sausages are to die for and much much more. Have this with some Auvergne wine which is strong and tannin rich and you're in food heaven.
Clearly you want to stay away from this place if you're on a diet or a vegetarian but for the rest of us; bring it on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cragrat_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go if you are hungry”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A hotel clerk recommended this place, but warned us that it was very filling. After being greeted by a very friendly, English-speaking host at the bar, we decided to try it, even though we were not very hungry. We were looking for something 'light', something I don't think they have every heard of. Our waiter, and all of the staff, were very professional, efficient, attentive and friendly. We saw the huge portions of potatoes and meats go by, and kept looking for more of a snack (at 10 pm, the place was still humming with every table filled and people ordering full dinners!). We opted for a bowl of onion soup and a side salad, and a side of home made chips - actually, they are french fries! The soup was very tasty as was the salad. The fries were very good and tasty as well. We ended with a shared order of profiteroles, some of the best we've ever had. Would definitely recommend for an earlier dinner.The only complaint is very noisy, because it is very crowded, and again, the tight squeeze of people virtually sitting on top of each other. If you want space, don't go here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsKerren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away if you are vegetarian”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited with a group of friends who really wanted to go there. No balanced vegetarian option, if you don't eat cheese then its no options at all besides a green leaves salad and chips. They wont change any of the salads ingredients to help you. Stay away if you are vegetarian or vegan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Plomb du Cantal also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Plomb du Cantal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing