We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Wine”
Review of Le Plomb du Cantal

Le Plomb du Cantal
Ranked #790 of 16,991 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wine”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went here on a Saturday night with a friend, although i speak French my friend dosn't but they were still very welcoming of him and talked to him in English. The meals were delicious and there was plenty on the plate. The price was great as well, we had 2 main meals (steaks), 2 desserts, 1 Bottle of Bordeaux wine and water and it came to around 75 Euros which i thought was a very good price for the quality of the food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonmarc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    596
    178
    66
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good vibe from the street. Really busy. Very disappointing food.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We liked the look of the menu. Aligot and confit canard yum. Really busy and nice buzz front of house. But... The food was disappointing, cold duck and unexceptional aligot. Not too expensive overall because of cheap wine. But really not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was good food at a reasonable price in a nice location. It was busy when we ate here and the service was a little slow to begin with. However, it picked up and the food was very nice - Auvergne cuisine was a bit different than the usual bistro food. Portions are huge, we really didn't need both a starter and main course. Good place to eat and we would come back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“As expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The busiest place in its area. Very charming, warm and welcoming. My friend had pave de rumsteak with frites which was good. I had confit de canard with aligot and both were excellent. They could have easily cut my portion of aligot in half. The service was friendly and professional.
Very noisy so hard to have a conversation but otherwise a place I could easily go back to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Auvergne cuisine in the heart of Paris”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have dined at Plomb du Cantal a number of times and have always come away feeling content. The place gets very busy and as far as I can recall you cannot reserve ahead so best to get there early and wait at the bar. It is always very busy and there is a great atmosphere. It is worth mentioning that it's very popular with the French, which is a good sign.

The food itself is quite different to what you get at typical French bistros. Obviously it specialises in Auvergne cuisine. There are lots of nice meaty dishes - steak, duck, sausage etc - all served with their signature potato side dish. You one of the Aligot or Truffade (purée with cantal cheese blended in, or chunks of boiled potato with cantal - both seasoned with a bit of garlic and other herbs) which are truly amazing.

I am not too sure about the rest of the menu but to be frank I wouldn't bother going unless you are going to try their house specialities as mentioned above.

The wine list is rather good and the staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Plomb du Cantal also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Plomb du Cantal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing