We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!”

Udon Bistro Kunitoraya
Ranked #955 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best Japanese restaurant I've tried outside of Japan and singapore! You really have to come and have a taste of it if you're nearby..queue is definitely worth it!

Would recommend any udon..tempura moriwase and katsutoniyaki! This also our best meal in Paris!

Helpful?
Thank oo_pipi_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    147
    34
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Udon”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very good tradtional handmade udon. Had the right texture to it. Tempura was good as well. The Kunitora-Udon is the best.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Owlie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

When in Paris, you should really eat French food, but if you are yearning for good udon, you must try Kunitoraya.
There are very few seats, so we had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated recently, but our patience was rewarded. We got to sit at the counter; I like watching the chefs at work, but you may prefer to sit watching the passers-by. There are tables downstairs, but I would advise you to wait for a seat on street level. The employees (they are Japanese by the way) seem like they enjoy what they are doing, and that they are proud about the home-made udon they are serving.
The food tastes all the better thanks to their presence.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Katsudon”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I think that every time I go back to Paris, I come to this restaurant. I am not one that likes routine when it comes to restaurants as I always like to try new things, but the food here is amazing. I would even go so far as to say it is my favorite Japanese restaurant outside of Japan. Everything you eat is good, and the service is usually quick. It is not a fancy place, but a great place for a quick bit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Udon was really good that we went back a couple of times during our stay!

You will have to wait in line on the weekends and during rush hours.

Tried the Beef Curry Udon (it was more like curry sauce with udon, so the meal was very thick), Algae Udon (extremely light with a really refined glob of seaweed which isn't even detectable as seaweed anymore), and their Pork and Miso Udon (by far the best choice for those who don't like tempura).

Hearty but expensive. Also loved their tonkatsu!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udon Bistro Kunitoraya also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Udon Bistro Kunitoraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing