We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your appetite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Gladines

Chez Gladines
Ranked #713 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bercy / Nation
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Got to be the best find for a meal in Paris. Within walking distance from our hotel - Grand Hotel des Gobelins. Menu (no set menu) only in French but enough English is spoken to explain the menu. Busy place, arrive after 19.05pm and you will be waiting for table - outside, there is no room inside as table space is maximised. There is a possibility that you will share a table with others as we did on our second visit - bread and water on your table be communal if that happens. Orders are taken quickly, and meals delivered promptly. The restaurant serves Basque home cuisine - Cassoulet de Maison (haricots, duck leg, lardons, andouille sausage in a tomato sauce (12.50 Euro) was fabulous! On the second visit, the salad (8.50 Euro) came in a big silver mixing bowl, so enough for 2 people easily if wanted to add another dish, like the veal dish that seemed very popular - huge slices of veal, piled high in a cream sauce and it looked amazing. A 75 cl carafe of a Bordeaux is 10.50 Euro. Service is polite, friendly but they move at lightening pace - it is a busy and noisy place, so don't be looking at this place for quiet romantic dinner for 2. It is operated by locals for the locals. Big portions so bring along your appetite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    456
    114
    59
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and value in a great St. Germaine location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had dinner here tonite for four. And you know finding a good restaurant in Paris isn't difficult, but finding one at a good price is another thing. We arrived at about 8 pm and had about a 15 minute wait for our table for four. Within 30 minutes the line was out the door and every table was filled. There had to be an hour wait by then. As you know the French eat late, so if you like to eat early it can work out for you!

This is not classic epicurean quality French cooking, but the place is packed with a mix of locals and tourists. The crowd is mostly younger but age ranges were from probably 5 to 75. Some families, many couples or pairs of couples. It has a bar scene atmosphere andirons was a very pleasant experience.

The staff is very English friendly, and actually quite friendly overall. They don't take on the stereotypical impatient and unhelpful role toward non-locals as some waiters can do. And give the large percent of locals eating there I don't think they are pandering to tourists.

The serving sizes are actually quite ample, esp. based on French standards. We had 4 dinners, a bottle of wine (£12.95), a diet coke €3.50 (drink wine if you can.... it's cheaper ;-), and 3 desserts. The total was €77.50. I don't think you could match that anywhere else. I was quite pleased. The food was good, though one salad had liver and gizzard in it, which one companion didn't care for. I had a steak, green salad and French style fried potatoes (€10.50). The steak was a ribeye style cut at about 8-9 ounces.
G
They have a wide variety of items on their menu to pick from, including many that appeared to have an Indian influence (curried chicken and rice).

The "enclosed for winter" outdoor patio had heat lamps for warmth, but if you sit too far aside from them they won't help much on a cool nite. If you can get an outdoor table directly below the lamps it's probably acceptable. Nonetheless these tables were full as well. A little to cool for me.

The restaurant is conveniently located in St. Germaine, a block off the Metro.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Packed, multitasking waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait a while but we did not mind at it was amusing to watch the crowd, talk to the waiter who somehow remembered everyone's name and how long they had been waiting. Also ended up talking different there, all with interesting stories. The wine was good, the food was tasty but nothing spectacular (huge portions). Would recommend going as it is different to your normal night out to a restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank LuisaFernanda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Popular Basque restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent unpretentious small restaurant serving Basque food in 13th arrondissement. Food is delicious and atmosphere very friendly. It gets busy so come early to rub shoulder or share table, bread and water with locals. Daily from 12-3 and 7-1.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnabashedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“2 Times at the Chez Gladines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We walked to this restaurant on a rainy Sunday night based on some Yelp and Trip Advisor reviews.
It's a very relaxed atmosphere and very popular.
It just so happens Sunday was a little bit slow...but 2 nights later it was buzzing full and overflowing.
The salads are great...we had duck both times and the Duck Steak with Bleu Cheese sauce is WOW. The Roasted Duck is also great...both come with a salad and potatoes.
Large servings...wine prices are really reasonable...better than here in Chicago that's for sure.
Service it really good...but when they're so busy you must be patient.
It's a very friendly place...mostly locals.
We really enjoyed this dining experience...definately recommend it !!!
BTW...they have english menus if you need that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gladines also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Gladines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing