We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best macarons in Paris!”
Review of Pierre Herme

Pierre Herme
Ranked #3 of 317 Dessert in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best macarons in Paris!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We ended up to buy desert three times in this store during our 4 days in Paris. Expensive but totally worse it. Try Isphahan if you will have chance.

Helpful?
Thank Limon314
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    255
    97
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Get the Ispahan”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I came mainly for the Ispahan and I wasn't disappointed. The combo of rose, raspberry and lychee was delicious without being overly sweet! It was by far my favorite macaron during my entire Paris trip, but rightly so because it was also the most expensive macaron during my entire Paris trip. One individual serving is €6.90, but you'll understand why when you see how many fresh raspberries and lychees are packed into the dessert.

I know some people fall on either sides of the spectrum when it comes to Ladurée versus Pierre Hermé, but I think both are good depending on what kind of macarons you want that day. That being said, I think the macarons here were a tad bit more special because of the unusual flavors. Plus, I can get Ladurée in New York, but I have to fly across an ocean to get a taste of Pierre Hermé.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“One in every colour”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

There was a line of 6 people outside. We were very curious: all that fuzz about a few small cookies? Once inside this very small shop we saw the beautiful cakes and of course the famous macerons. We took 7 in a nice white stylish gift box (?12,50 in total). And 2 for the road ;-) I was hoping for some ready to go giftboxes, but I didnt see any.

Helpful?
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“THE absolute best in the world”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pierre Hermé is in a league of his own. His pastries are never ever a let down and his ispahan croissant is an absolute steal. I appreciate his devotion to his craft and the proof is in the taste. He's also one of the few who is willing to help others by sharing his recipes and skills, so he can help further interest in his passion to make it even better, which makes him a artist of flavor.

If you purchase one of his books be forewarned many pastries take a lot of work and time, coupled with the best ingredients explains why they don't come cheap.

This little luxury is worth the trip to Paris and that's saying a lot. Try the Jardin 2013 grapefruit, clove, nutmeg flavor. It's exquisite, but then, they all are.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Macarons in Paris!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to Pierre Herme as part of a tasting tour - easily the best macarons in Paris. So much better than Laduree. Got to try some flavors I normally wouldn't, and was impressed by all of them (especially the Rose and the Licorice). If you can only get to one place for macarons in Paris, skip Laduree and go to Pierre Herme!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Herme also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pierre Herme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing