We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quantity over quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Baribal

Le Baribal
Ranked #1,579 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quantity over quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Traveling alone on business the reviews for Le Baribal suggested the authenticity I seek. The service here was excellent and very friendly, one might even suggest uncharacteristically so for Paris. The portions were large, the food was possibly best described as robust, unsubtle, overseasoned, oversauced, completely lacking in subtlety I'm afraid. Having seen the review recommending the veal in roquefort sauce I gave it a try, big, massively oversauced, extremely salty (of course I expected saltiness), almost inedible. Overall friendly but very average and pricy, not worth the walk.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JFRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    84
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“otimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

great food and service , simple and great quality!! one of the best options around the 15eme.........

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreFontenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you're nearby and want a good restaurant to eat, Le Baribal is a good choice.
Good quality/price relation, very friendly and great food. The price is in line with the average french restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filipe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went on the recommendation of friends, and have been back twice. It is just a really good place. Each dish we have had has been excellent or at least very good. The portions are large and the prices are very reasonable. And it has a neighborhood feeling we enjoy, with many regulars and professional, capable waiters.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We got in a discussion about restaurants with a bartender at a bar near the Musee d"Orsay. The bartender, who used to work at Le Baribal recommended we try it and are we thankful we did.

We aren't experts on the local cuisine, but this struck us as classic local cuisine with no attempt to orient it towards tourists. It won't compete with Alain Ducasse's restaurants, but prices are 90% less, if not more. We give it 5 stars for its category. Great food and great value. We enjoyed everything we ate there in three outings (yes, we really liked it). As other posters have noted the pommes sarladaises are great.

The ambiance is strictly no fills bistro, but very comfortable and has a homey feel, maybe because it's clear many of the patrons know each other and the staff.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tasmax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Baribal also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Baribal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing