We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and affordable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo
Ranked #863 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very friendly staff, decent rooms, perfectly located, good money's worth – for a weekender in Paris, this is all one can ask for. And make sure to rent out the complimentary bicycles and explore the city that way. Very rewarding!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

At first it seems a nice place but I was really dissapointed by their attitude towards me as a customer. You see, these free bikes are not well maintained at all. The lights don't work (quite dangerous in the crazy Paris traffic) and the bicycle chain is worn out. Which means, when you apply some force climbing one of the many hills of Paris, the chain gives away and your feet shoot forward, which makes a very loud noise. It's also tiring, totally uncool and a not fun way of riding a bike.
So when I asked for a good bike, first they told me they had no time to look for one. After I complained in a very polite way, they told me to go to a commercial bicycle-for-hire shop down the road. That was their concept of service.

I will never come back here and I would urge anybody not to visit this hotel, which clearly only wants your money. They don't care about you at all. A total let down.

Another thing, often there is nobody at the reception. You get your own key of the entrance so you can get in. But it didn't feel safe at all. It would be quite easy for a criminal to get in unnoticed.

Room Tip: Ask a room that does not smell like mine did, because it was near the kitchen. Very early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

For a two star hotel, this hotel provide the basic need. The room is small but very clean. the bed is comfortable and firm. It feels like a Tempur-Pedic mattresses. The bed cover on some of the picture was velvet red looks a bit out of fashion, but it is very comfortable and vivid.

I stay in the twin bed room with bath facing courtyard for one night and double bed facing street for three night with shower. The twin room is rectangular shape. The double room is square shape. I like the double room more than the twin room. It is facing the street. However, it is on a very quite street. Therefore, there are minimum street noise. In each floor, there are only four rooms. Therefore, there are minimum noise from other guest room.

This hotel is about twenty meters from subway Jacques Bonsergent. Therefore, if you would like to minimized walk, you should always change to line 5 and exit here. In addition, this station had only two entrance toward the hotel direction. Jacques Bonsergent is only two stops from Gare Du Nord where you could take REB B to CDG.

Jacques Bonsergent is also bus stop for bus 65 that would reach Gare de Lyon. It is very convenient if you have luggages that you do not want to make subway connection change.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SimonDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Hotel du Nord. ( Not to be confused with the nearby mediocre restaurant of the same name ). Yes, the rooms are tiny - although the beds are quite comfortable. And the bar-resto across the street on the rue Albert Thomas is very loud - they blasted music until 3:00 AM on Sunday ( but were quiet enough the rest of the week ).

But the staff. They just cannot do enough for you. I have not encountered such a friendly group of people, since I stayed in a small hotel in Ireland. Always helpful. The neighborhood is very convenient. The hotel is about a mile from the Gare du Nord, so it is very convenient if you are arriving on the Eurostar from London, or the train from CGD airport. The Jacques Bonsergent metro stop is located a half block from the hotel. ( Do be careful at rush hour, as the metro is jammed, even though trains run every 2 minutes ).

There is a mini-mart adjacent to the metro stop - it is open 7 days a week, and the owner told me that he stays open until 1:00 AM. If you turn left out of the hotel entrance, and then turn right onto the rue de Lancry, you will find a laundromat on your right, which is open until 9:30 PM. A little further down on the left, past the laundromat, you will find a dry cleaners.

There is a Franprix supermarket, located on the Boulevard de Magenta. If you run ot of your prescription medicine, the pharmacy next to the metro station is open late - and on Sundays. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the quinine pills which I take for occasional leg cramps, and which cost me almost ten bucks a pop in the USA, cost the equivalent of thirty-five cents each in France. ( And I have insurance ).

The bedroom has a flat screen TV, and there is free WIFI in the hotel. Do not plan on spending too much time in the room . I travel a little too heavy, and could not lay my suitcase flat. But, hey, you are in PARIS - get out and explore. Two people cannot be in the bathroom at one time - don't even try. The continental breakfast includes an assortment of homemade jams.( But it does cost extra ).

I would probably not stay here in warm weather, as the hotel has no A/C. But, this small hotel does a lot - at 84 euros / night for a twin -bedded room located in the heart of one of the most beautiful and most interesting cities in the world. It's a steal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street - it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CJIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hotel du Nord in mid-November. The bathroom was tiny, with a shower stall that was barely big enough to turn around in. The breakfast, an extra 7.50 euros was not worth it. I am gluten sensitive and all they offered was bread and croissants, which I couldn't eat. When I asked for yogurt, they only had soy yogurt which I don't like, and when I asked for fruit they said they had none but then rustled up a few clementines.

There seemed to be an excessive amount of noise during the night, including prolonged screaming by what sounded like a woman being attacked the first night, which awakened me from sleep.

Would not stay here again.
Barbara Roberts, MD

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank bhrdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price you pay, this really is excellent. We had a lovely room, a gorgeous little balcony, and free bicycles! Staff were extremely relaxed, friendly and helpful.

One tip: Don't ask for breakfast in the morning. It is just ordinary bread and jam, with rubbish hot chocolate. But don't worry, there's an awesome bakery just across the street, which is also ridiculously cheap!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Majormajormajormajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Two night stay in Paris in nostalgia Hotel is wonderful experience.
Location of the hotel in near republica and also near metro station.
Hotel is full of very special furniture, panting, sticks, gift, sign , souvenir
give some time to have tour in the hotel
No air condition
No Refrigerator
Very small Bath
Room clean
Bath clean but need some maintenance
Bed are not bad but the third bed was sofa bed and was so bad
Staff was friendly but reception was close after 11:00 and for arrive becareful
Hotel i like

Room Tip: you could have better choose if you only looking for Hotel but if you want a hotel that you dont re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kave_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
#772 of 1,809 in Paris
84 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#472 of 1,809 in Paris
954 reviews
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#251 of 1,809 in Paris
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Beaurepaire
Hotel Beaurepaire
#868 of 1,809 in Paris
301 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#315 of 1,809 in Paris
790 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#233 of 1,809 in Paris
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo

Address: Albert Thomas | 47, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a small one with 23 rooms that are warm, cozy and attractively decorated. When our guests arrive, we give them a key to the entrance door to the hotel as well as a room key. Right away everyone feels at home or rather, in a guesthouse. Our rooms are all different, each one has its own style: Oriental, pop, empire, Pompei, and so on.... We take particular care with the breakfast, served in the basement with its old-fashioned stone ceiling. Our breakfast consists in croissants, the traditional baguette and whole-grain bread, made not by an industrial bakery but by our local baker. The jams are homemade, prepared by us using quality fruits. All the products we use are chosen and furnished by local shops. Our guesthouse is located in a central district animated by its residents. It is a popular district for Parisians that is famous for its picnics along the Canal Saint-Martin, its bars, its restaurants and small local shops. All around you will find many Parisian brands, boutiques, bookstores, and food stores. We have selected them and tested them before recommending them. For getting around in Paris we have bicycles that are freely available during your stay. This is also part of our approach. Whatever the reason for your visit to Paris, we hope you will appreciate the atmosphere of our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Du Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing