We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit better than most in the area”
Review of Cafe Divan

Cafe Divan
Ranked #2,284 of 17,292 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bastille / Oberkampf
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little bit better than most in the area”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had cause to eat in a number of establishments in the area and this one was a cut above, Hamburgers were really good as were desserts Service was a little slow to start with and at risk of the old French cliche of standoffishness.

Good selection of food and beverages. Great place to sit and watch the people of Bastille go about their lives,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    130
    33
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlngton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat, drink and relax!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at the Cafe Divan at about 9pm and the restaurant was full but the staff were excellent we were seated and allowed to have a look over the menu. There was a delay but in Paris everything seems to slow down and you are allowed to enjoy the atmosphere and relax (you're on your holidays!!) Once we had ordered we waited approx 15 mins max for the food to come and it was superb, the appearence and taste, the price compared to other areas in Paris also excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotthindle_2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a great find - a bit off the beaten path, tourist-wise, seemed to be mostly locals. Fun atmosphere, with service that was efficient & attentive (and spoke English!), and food was really really good. The melted Camembert & Honey appetizer - with lots of great bread for dipping - was heavenly. We really enjoyed our meal here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank piegirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great location :)”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

And they have pretty decent happy hours...!
I went there after a friend recommended it. We started with few drinks and then decided to stay for dinner. My brother won the best dinner with the honey caramelised camembert entrée (which was enough for a light dinner actually) ! Food in general was really good, we found the service to be great (way better than so many places in Paris!!!!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rose_nanane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant staff, poorly managed. Don't come here”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place really takes the cake for impolite "service", if you could call it that.
- Waiter blowing smoke in our faces
- Having to ask 3 times for our orders to arrive - much of it didn't arrive (but we were billed for it)
And of course when we complained (in French), their only reply was to pass the blame onto other equally arrogant staff.
Really terrible service, but the food that did arrive (after 45 mins) was ok.
The Mojitos were not.
Don't come here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Divan also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Divan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing