We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Le Durer - CLOSED

Le Durer
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant and initially were enticed by their set price menus and their French onion soup.However under the layer of cheese there was more bread than onions!!
Service was extremely quick and we eventually realised the reason for this; the food was not being cooked fresh; the meals had all been precooked and required little preparation.
The ambiance was poor but could easily be improved with a bit of imagination.
All in all a disappointing experience on what was our last night in Paris.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philomena6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    107
    29
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastique!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are a foreign person in Paris. I speak French and went for dinner with English speakers and a Spanish speaker and they were very accommodating. They were able to supply us with two English menus, a French menu and a Spanish menu - first time i have ever seen something like that in a restaurant. They have an extremely affordable set menu (we were cheeky and ordered some extras from the actual menu.) What's more, the staff were very friendly, were able to speak English and create a very fun environment. Even though my French isn't perfect they laughed along with me as i relalised i made silly mistakes. But, i would definitely recommend this restaurant to any people visiting Paris. It was perfect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EM159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Yes, the service can be a little slow, but the French are in no hurry when enjoying a good meal.
This is family style French dining!

The portions are huge, so you probably want to take your time eating over the course of a couple of hours. I was traveling alone and wished I had someone to share my plentiful dinner with.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The owner or manager would come by my table to check on me and to say hello.

I ate here twice on my trip and will be going back again this December.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluepill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK....”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Positives: Good sized portions and food a little mixed but on the whole good (the mussels starter and rib beef main were both great)

negatives: TERRIBLE service - never offered water, first 1/2 bottle of wine took a while to come, the second 1/2 bottle never arrived so we were left for half the meal without drink of any kind. The staff had disappeared so could not follow up. Just bizairre really.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TWO OF OUR FOUR DINNERS”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you only have four nights in Paris and you go to a restaurant you have been two each of your previous visits to Paris, that restaurant has got to be fabulous!

For us, the entire package that is Le Durer in Montmartre, is the best food at incredible value that we have found. The French onion soup is the best I have ever had and my husband says the same thing of his 12 escargots, who's buttery sauce is still bubbling inside the shell when they arrive at the table. The lamb chops arrive on their cutting board, 4 or 5 of them, cooked to perfection.

I have the coffee ice cream every time. Can't help myself. My husband has the colonel, French citrus ice cream floating in vodka.

Make reservations; it's small and popular and full of locals. Order one of the plates, but fabulous value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebe-Says---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Durer also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing