We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of A la Biche au Bois

A la Biche au Bois
Ranked #753 of 18,840 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bastille
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal for 4 here. Food was amazing. Service was great but what really stood out was the quality of the food. We will certainly go back next time we are in Paris.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank edhartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good food and friendly staff. It was a bit crowded and noisy but the service was fast! Tasty and generous portions! Worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank loraarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Dated restaurant (see the toilets, the decorations or the tables) where everyone sits very close to each other.
The first restaurant in Paris where we got charged for water.
Food isn't bad, but nothing special either.
The waiter (who judging from the pictures on the wall was working there for many years) had a bad day, serving us late and disinterested.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H0rea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

A wonderful Saturday night walk-in. The staff were very friendly and efficient. La Patronne explained the dishes of the day in great detail. Wines of the month were excellent value. Starter, main.cheese and dessert for 30 euros was unbelievable. My partner had poached egg salad starter, I opted for the 2 pates. We both has the duck breast in a fruits of the forest sauce which was fantastic. The cheeses were a very well chosen range of French classics and the tarte aux abricots dessert was melt in the mouth.
So how come, despite service, food and value all being excellent, I gave an o/a rating of v.good? Sadly the toilets are a throwback to the world view of sanitary conveniences that held sway up to the 1960s. For very little investment the toilets could be brought up to the modern standards a restaurant this good (and very popular) should aspire to. HINT: Try to avoid having to use the toilets anyway during your visit!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We had a really good meal with excellent friendly service. The portions were, if anything, over generous. Egg mayonnaise had been recommended and it was totally unlike the usual fare - really excellent. The coq au vin was also extremely good. Overall we had a very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Biche au Bois also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to A la Biche au Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.