We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not fun then don't come”

Le Refuge des Fondus
Ranked #2,162 of 17,292 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“If you're not fun then don't come”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is a load of fun but you need to be ready for it. You're not going for amazing food and drink, but for a fun dining experience.
When you enter, your coat and bag are put away and one of you is launched over one of the 2 long, thin tables that are in the restaurant to get to your seat and then you order your fondue. The cheese was not the best fondue I've had but its not to be sniffed at either. The wine comes in baby bottles and the walls are covered in graffiti that you can happily contribute to and the decor is simple and joyous.
Don't expect privacy, but great conversation, me and my partner had great talks with the people sat next to us and the atmosphere is very cheery and fun. Also note there was a surly waiter who was a right downer but that's part of the joke and he is hilarious for the irony.

Helpful?
Thank Ash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    335
    134
    54
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly unique experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is so cool. I read reviews about it all over the web when I looked up "cool stuff to do in Paris" - and this is super cool. I was so ready when the owner helped me up onto a chair and over the table to be seated in a bench, and unsurprised when I received my wine in a baby bottle, but I was not expecting the massive portions and attentive, speedy service. Careful though - wine goes down real easy when you drink it out of a "biberon"!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank heycarrieannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paying for the experience, not the food.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

At a set menu of 20E/person you get a plate of starters, an aperitif, your choice of cheese or meat fondue, a baby bottle of red or white wine, and a dessert. All are pretty basic, and it wasn't the greatest fondu I have ever had. That said, it's a quirky place with bills from around the world and personal graffiti plastering the walls. It's a small space and in order to get into the benches you have to jump over the table. A fun place to be, but if you're looking for the best fondue in Paris, you best look somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndigoChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Interesting and different fondue restaurant”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is an experience rather than fine dining.

I have had (and even made) much better cheese fondues and the starter and dessert are fairly basic.

However, this a fun dining experience, closely shared with the other diners since there are just two long tables (you have to climb over if you're seated on the inside).

We found the person who was serving, who we think is the owner, to be friendly and helpful. Speaking French to him rather than English might have helped.

The wine served in baby bottles was entertaining, although the wine was basic table wine (as would be expected).

For the price we thought the experience was worthwhile, although we would not return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavirate, Lombardia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“VERY PARTICULAR EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice and basic restaurant in the Montmartre district.
Only 2 big tables where you enjoy dinner side by side with other people from all over the world, so nice and friendly place.
For sure you already know that if you go to "les Refuge des Fondues" the menu range is very short: cheese or meat fondue. But it's simply stunning, especially the chees one.
You can have wine, Coke or water served in feeding bootles.
Definitely a place to go if you want to have a different and particular dinner in a very nice area of Paris, not reccomended if you want to have a quiet and tête-à-tête night.

Suggestion: book if you don't want to wait 30min outside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBelushi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Refuge des Fondus also viewed

 

Been to Le Refuge des Fondus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing