We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of Paris…”
Review of Le Basilic

Le Basilic
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Le Basilic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #306 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $66
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The gem of Paris…”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Le Basilic was one of the most beautiful experiences for us in Paris. A cozy, comfortable and endearing restaurant that sits a small number of 50, has to be the best hidden restaurant in Paris. Although we were 2 minutes away from it, it is by far the best food we had in this wonderful city. We ate there 3 times in 4 days and each meal was impressive, traditional and exceptionally cooked. The steak, fish, soups and entrees are deliciously cooked and wonderfully presented. The service is nothing short of that, although there were two waiters, they eased on by and not one table was over looked. Once the restaurant is full, is buzzes with atmosphere, it is simply incredible. A great find, and we will definitely visit on our next rendezvous in Paris.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiannaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    405
    104
    25
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this restaurant in the back streets of Montmartre last Sunday evening (24th March) and were lucky that we found it when we did. There was a table for 4 available but within 30 mins this little restaurant was full and buzzing with atmosphere.

The two waiters work extremely hard and provide excellent service to their customers. David did see me looking at the restaurant on trip advisor just before taking our order but I do not think that made any difference to the excellent service that he provides.

We all went for the 3 course 24 euro menu, which is wonderful value for money. We all had steak for main course and it was so tasty, full of flavour. One thing I would advise is that both my wife and I like our steaks done meduim rare and the steaks were cooked more towards the rare side than meduim. It suited us but some may prefer to go for medium.

The restaurant was very busy for a Sunday evening and David did need a reminder for a drinks order that we made. He did apologise and left the drinks off the bill at the end of the evening. A fantastic gesture, but he did end up getting a big tip..!!

If you are visiting the Moulin Rouge then its worth venturing down a side street to this fantastic little gem. You wont be disappointed. Thank you David for a great evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nrees69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great homemade food!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Paris as it was so close to our hotel and they had a fixed menu which was well priced at 24 euros for 3 courses. The place is cosy and welcoming and has a traditional feel to it. The food was great, all seemed home cooked and it was all very tasty. There was a wait between courses but that was great for us as we were so full! Would recommend for a well priced, hearty meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Don't order the steak!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to Le Basilic for lunch on our last day in Paris. It was a cold grey day and the restaurant looked inviting and indeed it was warm and comfortable. We had suitcases with us but this caused no poblem as the waiter was very heplful. Its a lovely old building which has been a restaurant for more than 80 years.
We decided to have the two course lunch menu, I started with a warm potato and herring salad and my husband had the starter of the day which was an unusual combination of a warm mushroom and smoked bacon salad with a soft poached egg. So far all very tasty. Main course we both selected the dish of the day bavette of beef. Now we have eaten this cut of steak many times before in France so we do know that it has lots of flavour but it does need some chewing. We ordered one medium and the other cooked a little more, they were both perfectly cooked but when we tried to cut them even with steak knives it was almost impossible, they were so so tough we couldn't eat them. The waiter did appologise and offered to bring something else but we were short of time so we just finished with coffee. We were charged for the steaks and the coffees. Before we left 2 more customers sent bavette steaks back for the same reason but they still left them on the menu. Its a lovely restaurant, full of atmosphere and the sevice was good but the steak was so disappoining and a waste of money

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate here this evening and must say it's been one of the best meals we've had in France. Small restaurant on the corner and was unsure to start with as I thought it would be too touristy but after checking trip advisor decided to give it a go. My husband had the cheese and honey to start which was delicious, we then both had the bream with trio of vegetables which was really flavoursome without being too rich - fish on a bed of roasted carrots, courgettes, onion and a little potato. For desert we had an expresso with the mood of the chef! He was clearly in a good mood as it came with a trio of deserts all of which were fabulous - strawberries and cream, ice cream and melting chocolate pudding.
If you're in Montmartre do yourself a favour and visit this gem of a restaurant, might need to book though.

Helpful?
Thank Susanna234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Basilic also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Basilic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing