We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Six
Nearby Hotels
$327
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$380
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,778
$1,293
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$228
$207
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$324
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$201
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$282
$248
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$274
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
1,989 results
Traveler rating
1,582
358
37
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,582
358
37
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschez marcelnotre dame des champsluxembourg gardensquiet streetl'occitane productsdifferent metro linesdeluxe roommontparnasse areathe hotel staffhighly recommend hotelsteam roomfront desk staffgreat boutiquest germaindinner reservationsminute walkleft bank
Filter
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,989 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Every review on Tripadvisor told us we had to stay at this hotel and based on our 6 night stay we are so glad we did.
First the position, perfect location, in a great quiet street and yet no more than 5 minutes walk to 4 different metro stations that can take you to so many different metro lines. We were spoilt for choice for cafes, bars and creperies which are all within that same 5 minute walk. Everyday we took a different direction and found somewhere else that was great to experience.
Secondly, the hotel is great, from the moment you arrive the service is outstanding and we loved how everytime we came and went we were either greeted or asked where we were going or what we did. Nothing was too much trouble for the team to do for us from organising massages in the spa (which by the way are amazing) to booking a tour to recommending restaurants. Everything was first rate.
Thirdly, the room, we had a suite and we loved it. The shower is one of the best we have ever encountered in a hotel. There was nothing better getting back after a days siteseeing to freshen up and enjoying a great shower. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are too. There wasn't anything We would change.
Lastly, the bar and spa are great additions and we enjoyed both of these facilities and are definately good additions.
When we return to Paris, and we will, this hotel will be our first choice! Great job to everyone at Hotel Le Six.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank EmmCeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_leSix6, General Manager at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear EmmCeeAustralia,

we are pleased to read that our almost longest-travelling guests have choosen us to be their base in Paris !

We are delighted to read that your experience at Le Six was meeting your expectations and loved the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the hotel.

Anne Levioux and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is located in the chic Latin Quarter on the Left Bank near beautiful Luxembourg Gardens with lots of cafes nearby. The rooms were larger than standard French hotels and we spent a little more to get a deluxe room which was quite roomy with a nice bathroom. We were on the 1st (2nd in America) Floor overlooking Rue Stanislas. It was very quiet. The hotel is air conditioned which is very important in the summer. The air conditioner was the quietest we have ever experienced--just a bare whisper--yet kept the room very cool for sleeping. It was fully adjustable. The deluxe room had a very comfortable king-size bed. The linens were always fresh and spotlessly white.

The staff all spoke good English and were very pleasant, helpful and cheerful. The service was excellent. They can make reservations for you at restaurants, etc. If you want to eat at the very good French restaurant across the street from the hotel, be sure and reserve a specific table or you will find yourself way in the back against the wall.

The hotel served a great breakfast with eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, an assortment of breads and juices. It was a bit pricey for 22 Euros, but worth it if you want a full breakfast. You will pay about the same at a cafe if you order eggs and sausage or crepes. If you just want coffee and a role or croissant, there are cafes one block away.

There are several good cafes within a couple of blocks of the hotel for dinner, lunch or breakfast at reasonable prices (for Paris). Avoid Le Dome on Montparnasse and Raspail. It is highly rated by some, but we had a bad experience there and would never go back. It is very expensive and some of our food was inedible.

The hotel is located very close to 3 Metro terminals serving 3 different trains. Between them, you can get to all of the important stops without changing trains. The train from Charles De Gaulle airport is a forty-minute ride and drops you off at a station about 5 or 6 blocks away from Le Six. You can get a Metro train that takes you closer to the hotel, but you have to climb stairs to change trains. If you have suitcases, that is tough. It would be almost easier to walk the 5 blocks to the hotel if you have rolling luggage. You could also grab a taxi from the station to the hotel for about 10 Euros if you have a lot of luggage.

We would recommend this hotel highly to anyone. We researched several French hotels on the Left Bank on TripAdvisor and Le Six was the only one who met our criteria for room size, staff friendliness and air conditioning. It was rated one of the 10 best hotels in France by TripAdvisor which is how we found it.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise. It was very quiet even on the 1st (2nd in America) floor. The Deluxe rooms are a bit larger and worth the added cost to us. Even a Deluxe room was cheaper than the American hotels on the Right Bank.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaLeSix, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Tom S,

What a nice idea you had to choose the deluxe room. Thanks for your kind and detailed comments.

We are glad that Le Six Hotel met your criteria of comfort and well being in Paris. Therefore we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Angela, Anne Levioux and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I spent hours researching Paris hotels prior to our trip. Of importance to me was cleanliness of the hotel, reasonably priced accommodations, central location, & newer facilities. Le Six did not disappoint, the staff was friendly & helpful, the modern rooms were large by Parisian standards, & the easy location was perfect for our quick 2 night visit. We quickly learned how to navigate the close metro station & we were able to see many of the sights of Paris during our short stay. I would definitely recommend Le Six to anyone looking for accommodations in Paris!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaLeSix, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Tori S,

We are delighted to read your review. Thanks for your time.
We try to do our best in every service in Le Six Hotel and we are glad you appreciated it.
We would be glad to welcome you back anytime soon.

Kind regards,

Angela, Anne Levioux and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

While I'm kinda happy with my stay, I was not happy with the check out. Stay here if you want the area as everything is pretty much at your fingertips, Luxemburg Gardens, Gare Montparnasse etc. We also received a bottle of Billecart Champagne (complimentary) on arrival with delicious macaroons - a really nice touch.
However, Paris is expensive and the Le Six is no exception. In August, coincidentally when a lot of Paris is closed, the bar tender at Le Six was also away. We spent every afternoon (before going out) at the bar as the downstairs area is not bad to just chill, catch up and have a chat. Not having a bartender wasn't a big issue as the reception staff were happy to make you whatever you wanted. I just wasn't aware of the prices behind the bar (you need to ask which in my absentmindedness, didn't) and was shocked at the charges on checkout. My blue, I totally get that but this was clear overpricing. Almost $20 AUD for a shot of spirit, then I get charged for the mixer separately as well. Almost the price of a bottle and if I had checked pricing, I would have gone to one of any places close by that had happy hours. Just disappointed that we were, at times, telling whoever it was pouring drinks how to do it, where it was in the cabinet - even going behind the bar! Surely pricing could have reflected that? Anyway, it was Paris and I can get over the huge profit margins at hotels. The biggest disappointment was being charged an extra bottle of wine on check out when I had clearly seen the signing off the bar tab as correct but on actual charges there appeared one extra. Simple mistake? Not really acceptable as I could also simply have not noticed also and done my money. Deliberate? I'm not sure, hope not but it seemed like they knew as we didn't need to specify which bottle was additional, and there were no cross checks with the bar tab to ensure we weren't mistaken. Dunno.
Didn't like being asked for the iPhone charger back that was mine, not theirs. This was while we were getting into the cab and reception staff ran out to ask for it back. A bit embarrassing and didn't end my stay nicely.
Service was great though despite the above and staff couldn't do enough to be helpful.

Room Tip: I wouldn't upgrade, not worth it. My parents had the lead in room type and their room was bigger and as nice as mine. Difference was my faced the road outside and was on the fourth floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spadeaspade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_leSix6, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your comment.

We were very glad to welcome you on your honeymoon!

Our barman was away for a week and the reception was very glad to step in and replace him when needed instead of closing the bar as most properties do. We tried our best to serve the different cocktails that you asked for but some were unknown to us and we preferred that you guided us instead of refusing to serve drinks that we didn’t know.
Concerning the extra bottle of wine that was posted to your bill, this was a honest mistake that we rectified as soon as you told us and we truly apologise for this. We would never do this on purpose as we value our customers and their feedbacks.

Both you and your parents booked and stayed in the same room category. This explains why you did not see much difference between the two rooms.

We thank you for your appreciation of the service that was provided by our staff and we hope that we will be able to welcome you to Hotel Le Six again in the near future.

Best regards,

Morgane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family booked three rooms for 5 nights in August 2013. The highlights of the stay were 1) the staff friendliness and helpfulness. They are all very well trained and willing to do everything to help you out 2) the location of the hotel (very close to Jardin du Luxembourg, which is a wonderful place to visit) and 3) the comfort of the beds, which rival anything we have ever slept in. My only disappointment is a minor one. Even though we had 3 rooms for 5 nights -- a total of 15 room nights -- we were not offered an upgrade on any of the rooms, nor did we have a welcome basket, similar to what I read from some other reviews. To be fair, we did receive a 15% discount on our rate for booking 4+ nights, and the rates were very reasonable. So maybe that is why we were not eligible for an upgrade. In the end, I was not upset, I am just saying that it would have been nice to have been treated a little special.

I have a suggestion for the management -- the coffee in the room is a nice touch. However, it would be good to have 4 packets of coffee and 4 packets of milk in the room, as opposed to 2. With 2 packets, the coffee is slightly weak, unless you make a half cup.

Thank you all for your gracious help on our trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
client841, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear William M,

Thank you for your excellent review about hotel Le Six****Paris Rive Gauche.

We were more than glad to welcome you and hope to see you again in Paris.

Contact us soon for your future visit.

Best regards,

Angela Pepe & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews