We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first boutique hotel, but not our last!”
Review of Hotel Le Six

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Six
Ranked #18 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was the first hotel in TripAdvisors top 10 in Paris that we found an opening and could afford. It was a little more than we usually spend on a hotel, but it was for my first trip to Paris, a dream come true, so we decided to splurge a little. It was so worth it. It is the perfect location - close to Metro stops for every line & RER. It's in a nice neighborhood away from any street noise.

Just around the corner we found a street Creperie the first night with the most unbelievable crepes! The room was indeed small, but so nicely laid out with 3 wardrobes, so plenty of closet space. The bathroom was very large with a huge walk-in shower, really lovely. We didn't try breakfast as it was pretty pricey. All in all, we loved everything about it! So glad we found this unique place on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but ours was on the top floor which allowed a nice skylight in the b...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovecalculustoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Six
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Me and the boyf stayed here for a romantic weekend and it was a wonderful hotel, situated in a the most perfect part of Paris, next to the beautiful Luxemburg Gardens and a short walk away from some of the best bars and restaurants. Plus it is out of the Touristy area where you can get ripped off. The staff were so friendly and booked restaurants for us. All were brilliant. I was a little worried about not being able to book a taxi from other reviews, but there were no problems what so ever. Thank you Le Six for such a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysRmyHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Le Six for four nights. It was really one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in Paris. For a Parisian hotel it was incredibly roomy! The bathroom was big too. The beds were big enough and I felt like I had enough space to myself. The rooms were very clean, and overall very comfortable. The hotel is also equipped with two elevators, one full sized for luggage, and one small. The location was also a positive as it was smack dab between two metro stations, and right down the street from The Gare Montparnasse, the Tour Montparnasse, and the metro stop Montparnasse-Bienvenue. Overall a very nice hotel and I would stay there again!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank MondeVoiture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hello fellow travelers. As Trip Advisor has always permitted us to better judge the quality of hotels, sites and restaurants in Europe, we wish to share our recent experience with what was for us a new hotel in Paris where we spent ten nights last June.

We are French Quebecers, we have always felt very much "at home" in France and Paris, even though our French accent is different. It was our eight visit to Paris last June. We have previously stayed in charming hotels near Place Vendôme, in the Latin Quarter, near La Sorbonne university and in St-Germain-des-Prés. In April 2008, we stayed for the first time in Montparnasse at the Littré hotel, nice, good service but old style rooms, a little stuffy! Through Air Transat services (we also flew with this airline), we learnt about another hotel, Hotel Le Six, a boutique hotel very near where we had stayed in 2008. We had fully enjoyed the sixth arrondissement, around the Gare Montparnasse, the wide choice of restaurants, groceries, boutiques, great public transportation. So we decided Le Six was worth a try, and believe us we did not regret our choice at all! It was more expensive than the hotels where we had stayed before, but we enjoyed the more modern, zen decor and ambiance on the quiet Stanislas Street.

Air Transat was offering two room classes: the classical and superior. We opted for the superior and were upgraded to superior deluxe, the difference being in the overall size of the room. Mind you hotel rooms in Paris are generally moderate size to sort of small compared to North American standards, we were quite pleased with our Superior Deluxe on the fifth floor. Huge confortable bed, two large windows, great bathroom with shower and bath, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV, good choice of channels except TV5 (for us it is a useful channel), small noiseless mini fridge. Not enough closet space however, but no problem, we used the back of two chairs to pile a few tops and our small cabin luggages placed at the foot of the bed to serve as additonal drawers. Oh, and for women with thick, long hair, there is a standard hair dryer not the small attached-to-the-wall kind!!! We did not use the Spa, did not have time!

Nice breakfast room, with buffet breakfast, smiles and great coffee every morning as we arrived. Professional service throughout, we heard perfect English and of course had the pleasure of speaking cheeringly in our own mother tongue. Delightful boudoir under a large verrière, choice of interesting touring magazines, small bar. The reception clerks always patient, smiling and ready to help the customers in any way they wish. Stanislas street is just lovely with a church just at the corner of the Montparnasse Boulevard. Our room was on the façade and we were never bothered by the urban hustle and bustle. We were near the Gare Montparnasse, famous restaurants such as Montparnasse 1900 (with its fantastic Menu La Belle Époque, dined there twice, do reserve), La Coupole (dined once after seeing Woody Allen's Midnight in Paris movie, what a special evening that was), there is La Rotonde and a more family like fish restaurant very popular with the locals called La Criée. Hairdressers nearby, cinemas, the FNAC bookstore where you can purchase tickets to exhibitions and shows, all kinds of boutiques. We could easily walk to St-Germain-des-Prés, the Luxembourg Garden. By bus, it was also very easy, straight to the Arc de Triomphe, or to Garnier Opéra, or the Bastille Opéra, or near Alma Marceau for a short walk either to the Eiffel Tower, or the Quai Branly Museum (visit at least the outside garden!), or to the Champs-Élysées Theatre, or to get to the Bâteaux-Mouches for a wonderful promenade on the Seine, straight to the Louvre if we wanted. Believe us, staying in Montparnasse is a great way to explore Paris for the cuisine, the culture, the cinemas, the boutiques, the reliable bus service (never waited more than five minutes) or metro and of course to come by train or leave by train for instance to Bordeaux.

Le Six is now our favorite base camp in Paris and we recommend it without hesitation. We used for the first time the "Paris Shuttle" service from and to the CDG airport. To get to the hotel we had a shared ride with other travelers and had to wait a while at the terminal, so we changed the formula to go back to the airport and opted for the private transfer just for a small additional charge. We arrived at the hotel just before 1:00 PM, we were escorted right away to our room and we left on a quiet Sunday morning, our shuttle arriving at 8:00 AM sharp and got the Terminal 3 at 8:40AM! Our exchange through e-mail and phone was perfect with the Shuttle personnel, we will definetly use that service again but the private not shared transfer both ways and our e-mails to the Hotel Le Six were always answered swiftly.

Do visit the web site, you will be tempted. Bon voyage, Vive Paris!

Come rain, come sunshine, you will never be bored in Montparnasse.

Two avid lovers of the City of lights!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank docneveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

After looking at the photos on line, we decided this would be a great place to stay - - it looked roomy & a good location. However, some of the pictures you see on line were certainly not our room as they show an additional chair in the corner - - believe me there was no room for an additional chair anywhere in our room. As far as the cleanliness & the staff's helpfulness, I would rate this very well. Again, the size of the room was far too small (and that's an understatement). You could barely squeeze into the 1 chair that was in front of the bed at the desk. Not able to manuever around easily with 2 people in the room. Ammenities were not filled as they were used. They actually took our 1 bar of soap, and we were left without - - had to request a bar from the cleaning staff. Overall I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone - - especially considering the price.

Room Tip: The room was far too small
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam46375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmanager, Directeur général at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at the Hotel Le Six and for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor.
Further to your surprise about the size of our rooms we double checked our website which indicates the size of each room, and whose pictures do correspond to the categores of room they are supposed to illustrate:
the rooms showed with one seat are a superior room, a deluxe room and a suite which measure from 21 m² to 35 m². We did not find any mistake. As we did not find in which room you stayed we would like to precise that the smallest rooms, the classic rooms, measure 17 m², they are small but they are very well built and equipped. They are regularly reserved by guests (couples or singles) who stay more than 5 days and who were fully satisfied but their rooms which offer the same comfort as the others rooms: double bed, desk with one chair, tool, laundry with closet and drawers, bathroom with shower or bathtub...
We are sorry that you did not tell us about your disappointment during your stay we could have showed you different rooms and proposed you to change .
it is with regret that we have learnt about your disappointment about the free amenities that were not refilled every day that is why your comments were immediately transmitted to the managers who were reminded of their duties and who took the necessary measures.
Please rest assured that we constantly work to enhance the quality of our hotel in order to ensure your full satisfaction.
Should you give us another chance to restore your faith into the Six Hotel please do not hesitate to contact Angela, our Guest Relations Managerus, directly; she will personnally overlook your reservation
Best regards from Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

An excellent hotel with really great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowingEzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel was fine, but certainly not 200 meters from Montparnasse station - more like 800 meters, which makes a difference if you're lugging suitcases. The room was very small, which I guess is normal for Parisian standards, but at 250 euros you'd expect a little more. Breakfast (included) was good. We booked a taxi to the airport the evening before, which allegedly was confirmed but failed to materialise. Reception was unable to procure a replacement and in the end advised us to walk to the RERtrain station - I realise this is a Paris-wide problem, but surely that's not acceptable? There has to be a way of solving this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmanager, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear guests, we thank you for your comments.
We are sorry for the bad experience you met upon your departure: please rest assured that we did our best to find a taxi for you:
Paris is indeed meeting huge problems with taxis because of the high activity and because of the weather. The major taxi company that is in contract with the Six was contacted several times since May and is still not able to propose any solution and to provide any better service. Everyday the front desk calls all the taxi companies of Paris to find taxis for its guests.Sometimes succesfully sometimes not.That is why it is then proposed to take the metro or the rer to ensure that guests do not miss their train or plane.
We would like to apologize for the mistake regarding the information about the distance between Montparnasse station and hotel Le Six that is given in our brand new website. We did correct it and thank you for your understanding.
We are happy hat you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Six anyhow and hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Hotel Le Six

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,803 in Paris
763 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#52 of 1,803 in Paris
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#47 of 1,803 in Paris
1,087 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,803 in Paris
407 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,803 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Six

Address: 14, rue Stanislas, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paris
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $236 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Six 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Six Hotel, near Luxembourg Gardens, between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, offers you an outstanding Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le 6
Le Six Hotel
Le Six Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing