We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Hotel Luxia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luxia
Ranked #1,590 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you're thinking about staying at this hotel you might want to reconsider. The staff are incredibly rude, and treat you like an unwelcome visitor in their home, rather than a paying guest. The area is also not pleasant at all, being surrounded by sex shops and live sex shows, not to mention the general noise that can be heard from the streets outside every night. The area doesn't feel safe at all, and nor does the hotel. The door handles look ready to fall off and the locks aren't very secure, the room itself is very basic with peeling wallpaper and dated furniture. Breakfast isn't too bad, however that too is very basic and the area is very small if there are a large number of people eating at one time. Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 536632592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    38
    27
    35
See reviews for
19
38
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon arriving in the area, i was a bit taken back by the amount of sex shops and apparent high crime rate. The area is not a nice one especially for a family environment. Upon entering the hall/lobby/breakfast room we were greeted by a very grumpy man who was rude to the group. Upon going to our room, it looked like we had stepped into a time warp back to the 1970's. The rooms are way over due for redecoration, but it did seem clean. The bathroom had a good shower (except for no clip for the head, so you have to hold it). The sheets had been well used and had holes in but were clean, my wife found her bed uncomfortable, but mine seemed fine. The curious thing was that all the rooms had a brand new samsung 28" LCD tv, strange to spend so much on Tvs but not a bit of new wallpaper or paint. After sleeping and being woken up by student tour groups through the night we got up for breakfast. Also the rooms were lovely and warm throughout, no complaints there. At breakfast we were served by 3 ladies, tea, coffee , hot chocolate or orange juice from a carton. We then had 1x croissant and 1 bread roll each. 1 drink, 1 croissant and 1 roll is not really worth the 6 euros extra we had to pay, especially when they went and bought them from the bakery down the road. On the last day the 3 ladies were having a blazing row with the grumpy man (maybe the owner), not the most relaxing breakfast. Over all the hotel was basic, in need of updating but was clean and warm. The hotel i could deal with but not the area, popping up to the Sacre Couer it was heaving with sellers of tat who were quite forceful. But great views from the top over Paris.

Room Tip: Not on the road side or basement (ground)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in general was ok. The staff was nice. My room was good had no problems there. One off the major thing to watch out for os the area where the hotel is located it's a dangerous are a high chance that you will get pickpocket. Food was standard no issue there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Having looked online at virtually every hotel in Paris & been shocked by the high prices, the Hotel Luxia seemed too good to be true! Granted, the room was a bit tatty, well overdue for decorating and could have done with a good hoover, but the bathroom was clean and the sheets obviously fresh.

We'd phoned ahead to ask if our 2 year old and 6 month old daughters could stay in the room with us. When we arrived, the receptionist was a bit abrupt & said he knew nothing about it & our room wasn't ready. By the time we returned though, he was full of smiles for the girls & had even put a camp bed in the room for our toddler.

Breakfast was basic but tasty and plentiful and for 60 euros a night this hotel ticked all the boxes! If you want luxury, it's not for you, but for a cheap room to lay your head at night, close to Sacre Coeur, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia281010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is pretty good for the category, 2 **, but be ready that it has super soft and uncomfortable beds and it doesn't have doors in the shower and everything there is super old and basically falling apart. The location is good as it's just a few steps from Sacre Coeur and close to all the bars and clubs. What is totally unacceptable though is the behaviour of the night receptionist! I did not get his name but he was about 50 yrs old, well built and I think of Arab origin. We were meeting a friend from Paris one evening and asked if he could wait for us in our room while we were getting ready to go out. He said ok but just for 5 minutes and was already being very rude. When we came back at home, our friends walked us back to the hotel and when we rang to get in the receptionist started shouting at us that it's a hotel and not a brothel and he was really mean and arrogant. I went upstairs first as I needed to use the toilet and while my friend was saying goodbye to our friend and then wanted to get back to our room, the receptionist would not let her in and locked the door. He even told her she was a prostitute (actually he used the worst version of this word)! I mean: where are we? My friend had to go to the other side of Paris and sleep on the couch at our friends house as we were too tired for arguing. The day receptionists were not the kindest people on earth but nothing compared to this moron. I was shocked!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jitkajnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was totally ok for the money paid, breakfast is good, rooms are a bit old but quite clean and warm. Be sure to bring along proof of deposit paid on-line, since the owner tried to charge me full price of the room even though I've paid 10% deposit on-line. Other than that, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 35 (third floor) has a nice view on the ally, plasma TV, all rooms have their own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samodjole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansepolcro, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location, in the heart of Montmatre, a 3 minute walk from metro Anvers and 1 minute from the stairs to Sacre Coeur. Friendly staff and clean rooms. No hair dryer and no shampoo offered in the bathroom. Working elevator. Nice view and even terrace in the 6th floor rooms facing the street (which itself is not too noisy). The only real problem was the rooms are very noisy. Very thin walls allow you to hear water pipes, the elevator engine and the neighbours (we were specially unlucky having a gang of British young girls who partied like animals 3 nights in a row right on the room next to us). For the price the place is worth it, but refrain if you have a very light sleep, or take with you your ear plugs. Also, considering the expensive, bad and unfriendly breakfast in all bars and caffes in the Montmaitre area, you might want to consider taking the hotel one (only problem is it finishes at 9:30...).

Room Tip: Rooms in 6th fllor facing the street (Rue Sevestre) have terraces and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricmennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Avenir Hotel
#1,251 of 1,802 in Paris
456 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Fiat Hotel
Fiat Hotel
#1,172 of 1,802 in Paris
210 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bellevue Paris Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Bordeaux
Hotel Bordeaux
#1,483 of 1,802 in Paris
112 reviews
Hotel du Square d'Anvers
#1,451 of 1,802 in Paris
279 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxia

Property: Hotel Luxia
Address: 8 rue Seveste | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,590 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Luxia 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing