We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Financier with chestnuts and black olives”
Review of Ze Kitchen Galerie

Ze Kitchen Galerie
Reserve with
Ze Kitchen Galerie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Financier with chestnuts and black olives”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fusion cuisine here means French cooking combined with Asian ingredients and flavours. Although I would've perhaps liked it to be a little more adventurous, excellent quality of ingredients and preparation made for a great lunch. While I expected a bit more bite from my wagyu beef, mango and papaya appetizer, the fish main course infused with citrus and ginger was melt-in-your-mouth tender and simply impeccable. Desserts were wonderful and easily provided the high point of the meal. Soft pastry (financier) with chestnuts and black olives, white chocolate and wasabi ice cream (!), this is where the unusual combinations of flavours really shine. All that washed down with a nice pouilly-fumé or Alsatian riesling adds up on the bill but provides pleasure of a fine, fun and balanced meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avramgoldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    235
    80
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Eating is always foremost on my list when in Paris so when a friend who lives in Paris recommended that I visit Ze Kitchen Galerie on my next visit, I made a reservation. The restaurant is modern and as a solo diner I felt very comfortable, but if you're a solo traveler who wants to tuck into a little nook, you'll feel as exposed as the kitchen staff which is open for all the diners to ogle. I was the only solo diner.

The food is Asian inspired, but I didn't feel the inspiration, the Asian flavors were forced. Like most of the reviewers here, I had the tasting menu so I won't go into the details of each dish, but from my experience the flavors were much of the same - heavy on the Miso and ginger.

I'd recommend this resto for a business dinner or date but if you're looking for a great dining and food experience you should check out other restaurants like Le Baratin (I love this place) or Le Chateaubriand.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imustfindausername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
454 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“They maintain the standard”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I last had dinner at Ze Kitchen Galerie in July 2010. I remember it's a good experience.

I'd dinner there again tonight and I'm happy to say that it's still good. I took the tasting menu which comprised of 7 not-too-small dishes (3 entrees, 1 fish dish, 1 meat dish and 2 desserts). The food was basically French with some Asian (mainly Thai and Japanese) influences. Most dishes were flavourful especially the squid linguini. However, the first entree which was a dorade sashimi was a bit bland. The desserts were very good, in particular the white chocolate and wasabi ice-cream.

The service was friendly and efficient. They seemed to have more tables than before so you may feel the tables are a bit too close to one another.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended to Fusion Food Lovers”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful dining experience at Ze Kitchen Galerie. Strong points are creative cuisine coupling with very well prepared French, classic, high quality products with Asiatic flavours plus an honest price list and genuine service from young keen, interested staff.
The decor is a modern twist on bistro style with closely positioned tables (most of their clients seemed to be couples), many of which afford a view of an active (very busy) kitchen at the end of the room.
We began with two dishes, a mini raw sea food "platter" of oysters, razor clams, and truly wonderful sea urchins served with a strong Japanese hint - an amazing dish which managed to avoid being associated with sashimi, yet had the incredible marriage of Japanese flavours and fruits de mer whereby synergy prevailed (the taste of each individually stood on their own, yet the combination enhanced both). Truly superb! The other starter was linguini with squid sitting in a Thai style bouillabaisse sauce - interesting to say the least, first taste was mmmm this is good, then it evolved into a very good dish with unique flavours and style.
We then had two different main courses - Challans duck (both pink and confit) with a lightly peppered sauce based on Tibetan peppers - very nice indeed, but not a "wow" dish. The other was veal kidneys with saffron potatoes, concentrated blobs of tamarind sauce (which totally redefined that horrible classic English HP sauce, and Japanese radish.......sounds a bit odd, but it really worked.
Then we had the confit of citrus fruits (principally tangerines and grapefruit) with a fabulous mandarin sorbet. Great !!!
Service was very positive, encouraging and attentive ........ but, once the orders had been taken and the dishes delivered, there seemed to be a lack of attention (having ordered white wine, when we had tasted the kidneys, wedecided that we would appreciate a glass of red wine, but the waiters and waitresses were always absent at other tables. We think they need another one or two waiters at full service.
Let this last comment not detract from an excellent experience and meal.
We will certainly return!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodger00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Culinary Delght”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful gem of a restaurant offers not only great food, but friendly, responsive staff. Try the seven course special in which the chef decides what you get for each course. We were absolutely delighted. I am sure you will leave quite satisfied with the creative cuisine as well as the remarkable friendly team of servers.

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Kitchen Galerie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Ze Kitchen Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing