We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Shellfish and Seafood”
Review of Le Wepler

Le Wepler
Ranked #1,283 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Shellfish and Seafood”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I dined at Le Wepler on 9/23/13. We arrived at about 9:45 (late to our 9:30 PM) reservation, but our hotel informed them of this and while the restaurant was still busy and bustling, we were seated very promptly. Everyone around us had seafood towers of shellfish, and that is what we had come to get. The welk, clams, oysters, crab legs, everything was great quality and delicious. We both also ordered a fish entree that were amazing! But you really only need to come for the seafood tower. They actually forgot we had ordered our entrees in addition to the tower because it seemed the thing to do is just get a tower. We frequently get oysters and shellfish at high-end steakhouses and great sushi restaurants at home in LA and Le Wepler's was really fantastic. Only negative was the waiter forgetting our entrees at first (but he was so nice about it) and the part of town it was in wasn't terribly great for walking around after dinner, but still not much of a complaint, as it's still Paris.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    463
    164
    79
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Typical cafe”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

They do a good breakfast and the place is like many others. If you are in the Place de Clichy, then stop here for a coffee or a light meal. Plenty of business people do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buckster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dirty Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Where do I start? First of all the restaurant itself looked ok as we entered. The silverware and plates were dirty and the waiters were bordering cold and uninterested. The food and wine was okay to be fair but the initial uncleanliness of the plates and silverware spoiled the experience. To finish off my review of this place as we stood up to leave a mouse entered the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bootjack59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just visited Paris in Sept of 2013 and had a REALLY bad experience at the Brasserie Welper. We were a part of four, well traveled in Europe ( 4 times in the last three years and two of the diners were restruant owners in the US for over 10 years). It started with the waiter who was so snoty ever by French standers we almost walked out. We were unfamiliar with sereral dishes and asked him some questions and he was extremly rude and dismissive. We finally ordered two of us had steak mdeium, one fish (salmon and a white fish) and the other had a raw seafood platter ($100 E). The steak was so tough I literally had to spit it out and wouldn't have fed it to my dog. The fish dish had a very pungent taste and only the salmon could be eaten. The seafood platter was also very fishey and obviously was frozen. IF YOU HAVE ANY NOTION OF EATING HERE FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO DINE. We did tip the server (very nice) but made sure he received the tip and not the waiter. REMEMBER DON'T DO IT.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Parisian favourite”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went there late for dinner, about 10pm, and still enjoyed a great 3 course meal. The oysters were perfect, fresh and tasted of the sea. The grilled meats were delectable. Then came dessert - a pyramid of delicious profiteroles dripping with chocolate sauce. Full charm of a typical Parisian brassiere. Worth coming back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Wepler also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Wepler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing