We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MADE our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stella Maris - CLOSED

Stella Maris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“MADE our trip!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stella Maris is small, cozy restaurant with some of the best food we had ever eaten in the world. The prices were reasonable and the prix fixe menu was easy to order off of. Most of the other diners seemed to be French, which is always a good sign (The French picking the same French restaurant as you…no brainer) We were absolutely thrilled with our food. We plan on returning for our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandrianolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very quiet resturant with few tables and good service. They dont have an english menu, but the staff can recite the menu in english very well. The food was very good, however i did not care for the style which was some sort of frankojapo fusion style. Also the prices where pretty stiff, and i dont mind that usually but i then expect that little extra which i didnt get.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanfear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service. Good location.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a wonderful menu and wines we experience in Paris this week. Business dinner, hosted by a Parisien who knows his restaurants. Great location, very central but tucked away. Very pleasant inside, modern and not at all ornate. Excellent service and English spoken well.
But that was all blown away by the food which was truly exceptional. Oyster Risotto starter, a salmon course to follow was super, then a duck breast that was nothing short of perfection. Desert was apparently a Bretton speciality, kind of an individual tall sponge made with lots of butter. Possibly not survivable on a regular basis but OMG, it was worth the risk.
Added to the list of places to eat when in Paris with my wife. Recommended highly for a special dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Out_to_lunch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth every single cent, but with some downsides.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

For 75euros per person for the seasonal menu, it's worth every single cent. We had all the good stuffs like foie gras, scallops, beef cheeks, duck, crab meat. Although each meal came in small portion, after the 3 course meal, we were bloated! The fish especially, was the best fish I ever tasted in my life. The bread rolls are free flow and comes in variety. Service was excellent. The restaurant is easy to locate, just a street inside, along Champ Elysees.

The downside, the drinks were a little too expensive. A small bottle of distilled water cost us 9 euros and a big bottle of sparkling water cost us 18 euro. It will be great if the menu comes with complimentary water. Would be great if the menu comes in English as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharonleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“La nourriture spectaculaire joliment présentés”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I loved Stella Maris. Ambience and food an amazing fusion of French and Japanese. The Maitre D' could not have made us feel more special. Every course in the Grand Menu was memorable, but in particular I could not have improved the tuna tartare or the pigeon. I was beyond delighted and shall be visiting again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FasterCyrusKillKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Maris also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing