We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Get and You Don't Get Upset...”
Review of Les Papilles

Les Papilles
Ranked #47 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You Get What You Get and You Don't Get Upset...”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We found Les Papilles through Trip Advisor...and I'm so glad we did.

We had dinner there on a Wednesday night last October. The weather was rainy and miserable, and we walked all the way from St. Germain-des-Pres because we couldn't get a cab. By the time we finally arrived, we were cold, wet and HUNGRY!

The aromas that met us when we opened the door reminded me of Gramma's kitchen. The place was packed, which surprised us for a weeknight.

Of course, we knew the deal at Les Papilles before we booked: the menu is prix fixe...no substitutions. In other words, you get what you get and you don't get upset. But no worries, everything we were served was absolutely delicious. The cauliflower soup had to be one of the best I've ever tasted. The roasted cod with savory potatoes was hearty and satisfying....the perfect meal for a rainy night.

The wines available for sale are all displayed on the walls. You can pick your own or ask for a recommendation. Our waiter was helpful and suggested a good choice to complement our meal.

The atmosphere in this restaurant is so congenial, you just can't help striking up a conversation with whomever you are crammed in next to. We met a couple from Ireland and had a delightful chat. The highlight of the evening? When Chef Thomas came out of the kitchen to shyly accept our accolades for a meal well done.

One small criticism: The service was a little "brusque," but it was certainly competent.

This place is a little off the beaten path, but it is well worth finding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcodod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,335
    360
    84
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So CAL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Found the restaurant through TripAdvisor, made reservations by email a month before. Bertrand (the owner) answered the email within hours. Was told to reconfirm the morning of the reservation which the hotel (Minerve Hotel) did for us. The meal that night was Grilled Cod Fish, usually not a fish eater unless it's sushi BUT this was excellent. Had a lukewarm Carrot soup to start things and cheese plate and dessert which were excellent as well. Enjoyed the wine selection made by Bertrand. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PEBBLEFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Happy”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here on a hot July evening. Yes we found it through tripadvisor so there were other foreigners, but it was still the best meal we had in Paris as it is quite difficult to find charming local restaurants as a tourist. It serves a four course meal without choice or menu, but this made it more interesting and surprising and we were delighted overall. The staff are very French and so was the food and atmosphere. The portions were generous and my fussy companion was happy to try them all, with the highlight being the gazpacho. For me, a sweet tooth, the dessert wasn't french enough, but that is a minor quibble. We would like to return one day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We made a reservation on recommendation of friends. When we arrived, we were very disappointed to learn that the dinner for that evening was pork, which we don't eat. But not to worry. The chef had some ahi, and prepared it absolutely perfectly. We've never had better. The first course was a cucumber soup, which was heavenly. We took their recommendation for wine, which was very good and very reasonable. The whole meal and the service were excellent. We'll return there next year when we're in Paris again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_C2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of my favorites for wine and food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you love wine like me, you will be in heaven picking wine from the shelves vs a list. The prices are excellent as is the selection. From the best pommard to hermitage. The menu is set each day so there you get no choice. But it's like dining at a goo friends home (one who is a great cook). One day it was pumpkin soup, pork and veggie stew, cheese and pana cotta. The next was zucchini soup, duck with braised veggies, Stilton and a fruit dessert. I really tell everyone to go we have only been for lunches, but its a great way to spend an afternoon in Paris!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Papilles also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Papilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing