We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meat ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Gourmets des Ternes

Les Gourmets des Ternes
Ranked #5,484 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meat ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location! Best meat i have ever tasted "special pièce de boeuf" sauce au poivre.
As many of Paris restaurant it is tiny and the tables are very close... depending on your neighbours, could be a good thing.
The service is ok if you know the owner, otherwise you have to do a lot of efforts to come back. They can be very mean and arrogant. But you know what the food is worth it.
If you live in Paris and you know you are going to visit the restaurant often (and you can afford it :))
always order a starter, a main course and a dessert with good wine and leave a good tip. The owner will want to be your freind :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zouzou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    92
    43
    36
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best steakhouses in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a neighborhood institution in the 17th arrondissement and serves some of the best steak in Paris. Must go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LesParisiens2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food but at a Rip Off price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Due to problems with hotel whereby we were moved to another area of Paris away from where I had researched restaurants on trip advisor and having limited time for last minute research we came upon this restaurant by chance. As it seemed to be popular and a table became vacant as we walked past we thought we would give it a try. Whilst we were perusing the menu and taking our time to translate each of the listings into english the waiter said that he would send over the owner who spoke good english. We had noticed the various prices on the menu and all seemed fairly priced and we had no cause for concern at this stage. The owner duly arrived at our table and recommended several dishes which all sounded ideal for our requirements. He also recommended the house red wine, and when I asked the price he said about €20 to €22, which I thought was OK. We enjoyed three courses with a bottle of house red and 2 espresso coffees to finish. I had 12 snails in garlic followed by Veal in a lovely sauce followed by a special desert of RumBaba and fresh fruit. My wife had Mellon with ham followed by steak and a toffee pudding. When the Bill arrived we were shocked to see that we had been charged €188. What we found somewhat annoying was that my wife was served a whole melon which we were charged €25 plus the cost of the ham. She didn't ask for a whole melon and it seems that the owner saw it as an opportunity to charge for 4 portions. Furthermore the house wine turned out to be almost €30 and not what we had been told earlier. On the whole the food was good, however towards the end of our meal we were made to feel unwelcome by a miserable old woman also working in the restaurant who started clearing away all of the tables and chairs around us whilst we were still eating and who told us that we didn't want coffee and that she would just get the bill for us. However the owner did agree that we could have coffee before bringing us the bill. We then also noticed that the espresso coffees had been charged at €8 each.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rolyhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Les Gourmets de Ternes is not for the faint hearted......it is Paris at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

A visit to this restaurant is always high on the agenda when I visit Paris as you are quickly transported into the Parisian atmosphere as soon as you enter the restaurant. The owner has a unique style of his own and who cares if he is totally in love with his own image......, its part of the charisma. Before you know it he will seat you, choose your food for you and make you feel like you are an old friend and that he is sharing his best kept secret recipes with you, and you alone. The food is expensive but, combining the cost of the food with a good measure of entertainment and you have a package deal that is worth while.
Portions are good and the beef cuts are huge, the deserts are even better and to die for. We were a party of five who said goodbye to an old friend who is retiring to the south of France and it was such a great experience to say farewell at this landmark restaurant.

I will come back as many times as is possible as I like the food, the owner and his unique ways as this represents Paris to me!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Buks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice old school restaurant close to Etoile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We know this place for years and years and it is always so nice to get back for top old school cooking with a hard decision between celeri remoulade and museau vinaigrette (my favorite entrée). After the main course I am dying for their Baba au Rhum !!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Gourmets des Ternes also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Gourmets des Ternes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing