We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, no-frills local bistro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Galopins

Les Galopins
Reserve with
Les Galopins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #838 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bastille / Oberkampf
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, no-frills local bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I was taken here for lunch by the people I was in Paris to visit nearby and I'm so happy they did.

The welcome was warm, the menu comprehensive, the specials particularly intriguing, the service fast without feeling hurried.

The veal with fried potatoes was so simple and absolutely delicious. Good value for money too at around ?10 per entrée.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    103
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo Victoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great French bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was another recommendation by a local which was a great suggestion. Relaxed bistro atmosphere, friendly staff who tolerated our poor French, a very French menu and good wine at reasonable prices made for an enjoyable evening meal.

Highly recommended for a non-mainstream ie not aspiring for Michelin star status rather giving their customers an authentic Parisian dining experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wow!...A suugestion made to us from the guy behind the desk at the hotel we were staying in(Grand Francais-v good!) where the locals go and we were made up with our experience! Great food, Great service, Great aptmosphere!
Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Delicious food, great menu. I had a lamb stew followed by cheese and my husband had fillet steak followed by chocolate fondant, both were brilliant. For 2 courses and a really nice bottle of red wine it was under €70 which we thought was really good value. The staff were really helpful despite our terrible French, and there was a really good atmosphere. Don't miss out on this! We went on our last night and were gutted we couldn't go again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delberto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

friends of ours reccommended Les Galopins, we went there twice whilst in Paris - both times had great authentic french bistro food - decent portions and reasonable prices! Excellent ambience and service too - two totally pleasant nights hignly reccommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Galopins also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Galopins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing