We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrotters

Bistrotters
Ranked #51 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We own a charming and authentic bistro from 1900 and we simply offer fresh products from "le marche" that our Chef Erwan le Gahinet puts together to create very tasty French cuisine. French and world cuisine because we litterally are globe trotters of bistros. We travel for food and we bring back authentic flavours from around the globe. We do everything to make you feel at home and very welcome in our restaurant. Only one saying guides us : the pleasure to please! We are opened everyday for lunch and dinner. See you soon at BISTROTTERS!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This place was a little tricky to find but so worth it when we got there. We were greeted by Francois who was so welcoming and helpful. The food was gorgeous and lovely cozy atmosphere as there weren't loads of tables packed in. Classic Parisienne feel and food. Perfect! Highlight of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank raa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois G, Owner at Bistrotters, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review ! Our bistro is indeed off the tourist track, but conveniently located just 1 min outside metro Plaisance (exit rue Decres). We are happy you had a great time with us and enjoyed our Chef's creativity! We hope to see you soon at Bistrotters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    354
    83
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent several days in Paris looking for a charming french restaurant with well-executed food but kept striking out. We saved Bistrotters for our last night in Paris since we wanted it to count. I'm glad we did because it was the perfect way to end our trip.

We instantly knew we'd picked a good place when we saw that their menu was written on a giant chalkboard. A changeable menu means they're offering dynamite food with the freshest ingredients instead of serving tired, old dishes made from prepackaged food.

Francois was incredible and extremely friendly. He took the time interpreted the menu for us in English and talk to us after the meal. I heard that he's a master at pairing wines so we let him choose for us. He did a spectacular job and picked out two beautiful wines to accompany our meal.

My boyfriend is a chef and is very hard to please. He deconstructs everything and always has an opinion. Even he was impressed by the food, which is saying a LOT.

Make sure to call or email ahead of time to make a reservation because it a small restaurant and you don't want to miss out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois G, Owner at Bistrotters, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our bistro for your last night in Paris. It means a lot to us! We have only one saying : the pleasure to please! Your boyfriend being a chef is indeed challenging and we are so happy you had a wonderful evening with us, and loved the food and wines we offer. We hope you keep great memories of Paris, and hope to see you soon at Bistrotters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our experience at Bistrotters exceeded all expectations! Having read the Tripadvisor reviews, we were hoping for a good meal, but what we experienced was simply perfection. We were warmly greeted by Francois, who's youthful energy and enthusiasm set the tone for the whole evening. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the menu written on a large blackboard, has just the right amount of selections. Two of us ordered the foie gras and it was simply the best we had ever tasted. One of us had the salmon tartare which was delicious, and I had the vegetable concoction , also delicious, full of different flavors. The pork belly main dish was melt in your mouth good, the fillet steak tender and cooked to perfection. We ordered a bottle of very good red wine, suggested by Francois, which we all enjoyed. With dessert we were offered a very good Spanish dessert wine. I personally refrained from licking my plate after devouring the chocolate cake, but it was not easy! As for the service, although there was a large group of 15 people being served, we were well taken care of. Bread and water and drinks orders were brought out right away and starters served very quickly. Francois seemed to be attentive to all the tables, answering questions and translating the menu where necessary.
A note on getting to Bistrotters from the Plaisance metro station. There are two exits. One takes you to the street opposite the second exit. You need to cross the main street, and then go left to Rue Decres, then turn right on that street and walk about one minute to Bistrotters. The second which we did not see takes you almost to Rue Decres.
Quite a few people were turned away as the restaurant was full, so reservations are a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois G, Owner at Bistrotters, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
WOW ! Thank you so much for your very detailed and very kind review. What a treat to read you, I guess we will see you again at Bistrotters, and be sure that we'll have many more culinary surprises for you to discover. It was a pleasure to welcome you here! Do come back anytime to Bistrotters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Un vrai regal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent meal from start to finish. The belly pork and the gigot d'agneau especially good whilst you would be hard put to find better - or lighter - pain perdu and clafoutis. A decent bottle of Oliver Leflaive Burgundy at a fair price. The owner and his team go out of their way to be helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois G, Propriétaire at Bistrotters, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy you had a great dinner with us, and our pleasure is to work with fantastic and well known wine makers like Olivier Leflaive. We also take pride in making you feel at home for you to have a great experience with us. We hope to see you soon at Bistrotters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great meal in this charming little bistro. We were six people who all agreed that the food was excellent. The waiter did a great job explaining the menu, which is written in french on a chalk board on the wall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank talebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois G, Propriétaire at Bistrotters, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your visit, we are very happy that you had a great ime with us. Hope to see you soon at Bistrotters !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrotters also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bistrotters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing