We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great italian restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Cailloux

Les Cailloux
Ranked #7,205 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Run by italians in the Butte aux Cailles neighborhood. Good pasta, great antipasti, bustling atmosphere.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Koudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    93
    59
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
finger lakes NY
Level Contributor
272 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Italian and fun ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Finding good Italian food in Paris (or in most of France) is not easy, I've found. Les Cailloux, on the Butte aux Cailles, in Paris' 13th Arondisment, has a very good interpretation of Italian, and it a very Parisian setting.

I've eaten there twice, and each time been well satisfied; I've had drinks in late afternoon, sitting at one of their sidewalk tables, many more times. They serve an excellent cocktail or glass of wine, and the location allows for good people watching.

Reservations for dinner are a must-do, at least on weekends, and I expect throughout the week. We've been able to call at 16:00 and get a reservation for that evening; when we've tried to simply walk up, at 19:00 or 20:00, no tables were available. This was true even in winter.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chasinUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice food, very 'sympathique' atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We went for dinner with our family and luckily were able to have a table without reserveration (reservation: recommened!). The atmosphere is very nice, on a sunny day you can sit on the terrace or enjoy the street atmosphere through the open French windows.

The staff was extremely friendly, but they were under great stress, since they seemed a bit understaffed. The waitresses only spoke italian and enough French to communicate about dinner. That doesn't disturb me at all, since this is a real Italian restaurant.

The interior of the restaurant is quite sober, but nice. There is a very nice atmosphere, and people are sitting very close to each other. That might be a problem for some.

The food was not cheap.It was simple but very taste, like you would get a dish of pasta in Italy. One person ordered the ravioli, and only got 5 or 6 raviol's in her plate (for 16 euro!). They were delicious but far from enough to feel a stomach.

Deserts were of good quality, so was the limoncello.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

The food is ok, just ok, you don t have that much in your plate and the price is high

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank somvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Really one of the best italian cantine of Paris, need to book !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Really one of the best italian cantine of Paris, need to book !

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Cailloux also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Cailloux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing