We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Le Violon d'Ingres

Le Violon d'Ingres
Reserve with
Le Violon d'Ingres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #259 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Michelin starred excellent quality fresh food French restaurant using fresh local ingredients. Creative and exciting food. Owned by Top Chef Christian Constant.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went here on Friday 2nd August and to be honest it could not have been a more diverse group of people. We were 8 males on a stag weekend and I booked via email a few days in advance of arrival. Some of us had done fine dining before, some had never. Ages ranged from early 20's to late 50's and I can honestly say that every single one of us loved it, and are itching to go back. We had the €45 euro summer lunch. The choice was 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts with a glass of wine, unlimited bread and water and sweets and coffee. It was worth every single penny and more, we could not recommend more highly. The food, the service and the experience was first class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_V_G_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    213
    106
    49
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular Cuisine and Service where Excellent is Commonplace”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We dined here having heard wonderful things about Christian Constant and Staff! The cuisine was awesome, the service superlative. Each selection was discussed at length, upon request, with emotion and enthusiasm. We went one night and returned the next. The cassoulet is so delicious, that I wished I could go on eating it forever. My wife had wood pigeon...divine. The seared foie gras and frog's legs are beyond amazing. Ask for the white port with the cheese. Don't miss the Grand Marnier Soufflé!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Degustation that still has me salivating”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a beautiful experience.
Amazing cuisine, thanks to Jeremy a truly inspiring chef.
Brilliant staff, thank you Rodolphe for taking care of your customers the way you do, with style, professionalism and always with a smile.
My best dinner in a long time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_Euskadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good and solid service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We tried Cafe Constant, Cocotte and moved on to Le Violon d'Ingres. Firstly service was warm and not as stuffy as other restaurants. On top of that this was the first restaurant that made my kids feel welcome (8 and 12 yrs). Kudos to the staff for this !! Standard of food was high. I could not resist the cassoulet even though it was July. Beautiful crunchy crust - the pork sausages were particularly tasty. Other dishes tried were the slow cooked lamb and the langoustine ravioli. All excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charkuayteow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lack of flavor and creativity”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took the "menu dégustation" and what a disappointment. The oeuf poché was very well done technically but it has not taste and no creativity. We had the same experience with the pigeon, very well cooked but it doesn't tate anything.
For the reputation and price of this restaurant we expect from chef Constant to have explosions of taste instead of a very common poached egg...and a pigeon without sauce.
The restaurant is OK but a little bit small, the waitress was nice but hardly speaking French.
At Top Chef this wouldn't fly at all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank genious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Violon d'Ingres also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Violon d'Ingres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing