We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, but nothing special”

Le Relais de l'Entrecote
Ranked #723 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice food, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

There was a line in front of the restaurant, so we thought it would be something really special. The food was good, but not outstanding. The starter is a green salad with nuts and the main course is entrecote with french fries. This restaurant is fine for a quick diner, but do not expect a romantic diner nor gourmet dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moniek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    809
    303
    135
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a perfect dinner for the end of a long day. No decisions to make other than how you would like your steak done. We arrived around 9:30 which is very much past tourist dining time so we only had a five minute wait for a table. Service was friendly and efficient and the steak and fries were done perfectly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“this time, the food was better than service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The red and brown colours of the place gave you an idea of a traditional and welcoming french restaurant. But, as soon as we walked in, you came to know-by the look of the staff- you aren't very welcome. The food was delicious, and they did a great job at keeping it simple with one plate: entrecot beef nicelly cut wwith a drizzle of sauce and exquisite french fries. For dessert we ordered a creme brulee, whicj I highly recommend. Overall, it' s a very nice place to eat -especially for kids- but the shtaff's negativity gave it three stars instead of five. The waitress attitude and overall staff attitude was horrible. We were 6 and it cost 230 euros including a descent bottle of wine. Overall lunch was of 45 minutes since they were in a hurry to take us out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coylton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steak and chips the way I should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I used to frequent the entrecôte in Toulouse many times when we lived there and hoped the Paris version matched it... Well it does, you will have to que, you will meet some rude people (we had the misfortune of meeting 4 Americans who left litter behind them for someone else to pick up) however all is worth it, what colour do you want your steak and what colour of wine do you want, easy. The food was great, we had cheese and creme brûlée to finish and the service was great. I can heartily recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The name is what you get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Happened on this place by accident for a late lunch. Avoided queuing but it was still busy.
Apparently it is an institution.
The name says it all – entrecote & frites. Simple & tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de l'Entrecote also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Relais de l'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing