We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of 15 rue Marbeuf, 75008 Paris location”

Le Relais de l'Entrecote
Ranked #744 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Review of 15 rue Marbeuf, 75008 Paris location”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Came here not having read the reviews and didn’t expect the menu to be price fixed. They only serve one 2 course meal that everyone gets. It surprised us but we welcomed it and understood why. This place is extremely busy and the business model of serving only salad for appetizer and a meat dish with French fries increases their turnover rate dramatically. We had no issue getting a table probably because it was 10pm when we got there BUT the place was still extremely packed. Majority of the waitstaff do speak some English, some better than others, but they are all very friendly and service you with a smile. The salad was fresh and they used a form of horseradish on the salad with beets and it was quite tasty. I’ve never had horseradish in my salad before but it worked surprisingly well. The next course was a small piece of meat cut pre-cut into 4-5 slices with French fries and this greenish mystery sauce. I believe the meat to be a form of skirt steak, so not exactly the highest quality of meats. The mystery sauce is amazing!! We loved it. I couldn’t figure out all the ingredients but I will definitely try to re-create it back in the states. The fries were a little smaller than McDonald’s fries but thicker than shoe string fries. They were not dripping with oil nor did it taste like oil when eating it. They cooked it well. After you finish your steak and fries, they come back with a 2nd serving of the exact same thing. We ordered our meat rare because your options were rare, medium, and well done. The rare was cooked to perfection. It had grill marks and the middle was red. The degree to which it was cooked and what it looked like was on par with wagyu sashimi. The meat was tender and the sauce enhanced the flavor profile. After the 2 servings of meat and fries, that’s it. Dessert is not included. In my opinion, I would rather forego the 2nd serving and have dessert included. I doubt their business model will change anytime soon. Service was excellent and quick. They do accept credit cards and the bill are also printed in English. If you’re ever in Paris, you have to try this place at least once. Anymore and I think you’ll get the feeling of diminishing returns of the sauce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystiqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    839
    312
    143
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A complete waste of money”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having been advised that this was a lovely restaurant to go I attended the establishment with my wife this evening. What an amazing disappointment.
The sittings is crowded the service poor the waitress is of the attitude, unbelievable. With respect to the food, it is a fixed menu. The salad consists of a couple of leaves of rotting lettuce, 3 slices of radish and a sprinkle of walnuts. The main is a steak with french fries and a mustard sauce. You are informed that you have two choices medium or well done. Looking at the follow dinners who ordered medium the steak ranged from blue to charcoal. The chips were over cooked in rancid oil and the sauce is a fairly basic watery mustard sauce that leaves a lot to be desired. The wine selection is terrible and they have one beer Heineken sold by the bottle. At least you could count on the Heineken. Dessert was a right off, the chocolate cake was stale and my wife’s Creme Bulee was a disaster. Then to finish it off you are hurried out of the restaurant with a 97.00 euro bill.
There are thousands of wonderful restaurants in Paris, this is not one of them. Whatever you do avoid it at all costs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 267John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Steak We've Ever Had!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a friend who had travelled to Paris and decided to try it out. We got there for 6:45pm as doors open at 7pm and joined the line of people already waiting outside. The doors opened and we were promptly seated, the restaurant is of a decent size and has a warm, authentic feel to it. Initially we're a bit unsure of what was happening as there was no menu but before long we understood! The waitress came over and asked us how we would like our steak, she scribbled our answer on the tablecloth and said, "Merci!". Just to confirm, the only main course at this restaurant is steak and fries! And they do it VERY well!

What greeted us after a short wait was a bowl of bread and a lovely salad, walnuts included and mixed with a mustard vinaigrette. After that the main. Original French fries, well seasoned and the most succulent steak we've ever had. We're not quite sure what sauce it was cooked in but it was truly amazing. After we'd finished our plates the waitress came back over to our table and gave us another full-sized portion of steak and fries each. The steak melted in our mouths and around us the other diners seemed to agree.

We were offered the dessert menu, these were reasonably priced however we could not eat any more. We shared a bottle of wine and between us the bill came to approx. £65. Considering the quality of food, service and overall dining experience this was very fair. Take no notice of the few moaners on here complaining about service or the quality of food, some people will find anything to moan about! We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and next time we're in Paris we'll be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great stop on your trip to Paris”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

So, this is a very small (be prepared to wait 60 minutes or more with a line out the door there is no lobby or bar to wait in) french "steak house" I say steakhouse loosely because if you are american, this is no ruth chris--you decide two things here--what do you want to drink and how do you want your steak done. My fiance and I (both 30's) loved the steak, the sauce was unique, amazing, and brought the steak to life. The Salad and fries were nothing special, but the deserts were! Draw back-no room at ALL. She had to sit with her purse in her lap and be prepared to talk to the peope next to you, because you are literally packed in the place like sardines. Its an experience I suppose---worth going to. We enjoyed it-and it wasnt too expensive like all other places in Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prouss134439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not Dissappointed”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were staying at hotel chambiges Elyssee just 2 blocks away so this was a perfect location for Dinner, it was a short walk past little shops and a block from main champs elyssee, we arrived at 6:45pm as I had read reviews to arrive a liitle early before opening time, there were about 20 of us waiting in line, at 7 pm we were shown in and seated, we ordered a bottle of house wine which was very nice, and had the Dinner special which is a salad with a vinergette dressing and then the main course which is thin sliced steak with a peppercorn sauce with french fries on the side, the sauce is very good, as was the meat, when your done with your first helping of meat and potatoes they bring you a second, the waitress was very nice and we completely enjoyed are evening dinner I beleive it was around 29 euros a person, very reasonable, we headed up to angelinas which is a hot spot for desserts but it closes at 7pm so sad, next time Im in paris I will go to angelinas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de l'Entrecote also viewed

 

Been to Le Relais de l'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing