We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Steak Frites and Yummy Desserts”

Le Relais de l'Entrecote
Ranked #607 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak Frites and Yummy Desserts”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Dined twice at Le Relais de l'Entrecote on rue Saint Benoit in December 2012. It had been suggested by a friend so we did not hesitate to try. The restaurant is in the lovely St. Germain des Pres area and was with in walking distance of my new favorite hotel, Hotel Luxembourg Parc. Steak Frites is the only main course offered - you need only tell them how you want your steak cooked. The meal comes with a very fresh salad in a mustard vinaigrette to start and delicious French bread. Once served your first portion of Steak Frites (which was gracious plenty) they keep the rest of your portion on a warming plate nearby and offer it later. The combination of the steak, fries and sauce delighted my palette. We partook of dessert both visits. Absolutely loved the Meringue Sundae served with Vanilla and Praline ice creams smothered in a most divine chocolate sauce and topped with heavenly fresh whipped cream. This establishment is quite popular with locals. We waited both visits about 15 minutes to be seated in a queue out the door. The staff is friendly and efficient. We actually got to know our waitress on our first visit and ran into her on the street a couple days later and chatted as if we were old friends. We found the meal to be not only fantastic but a great value as well. We cannot wait to return to Le Relais de l'Entrecote.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWSHALOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    636
    261
    89
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak and Frites, nothing more, try and leave some room for dessert”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Basically rare, medium, or well. Those are your options for your steak (skirt or flank) that is served at this steakhouse in the Saint Germain area near our hotel on the Rue Christine. We got there by 6:15pm or so to be there when it opened at 7pm. By the time we got seated a few minutes after 7pm diners were already getting served their first course - a nice, simple green salad. They then ask you what wine you want, how you want your steak done, and then in minutes you get four slices and a heaping plate of fries, and the wonderful sauce the steak is served in. If you want more you get a second helping, and then you get to choose your dessert. The place is cramped and the service quick, but hey, it is something fun and you for sure will not go away hungry. Just something a little bit different in Paris.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_in_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fun, unique, institution among Paris restaurants”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are several locations in Paris all run by the same family, All serve the same single menu. This is the only restaurant I have ever eaten at that has a listing in wiki. You can even find out the secret sauce.

We had emailed to ask for a reservation and only got a response from rue Marbeuf who said they didn't take reservations. If you want to assure seating get there at 7 pm when it opens. (Not sure about the other locations.)

For us, the line started to form at 6:50. Service was brisk and efficient which might feel a little aloof to tired tourists. We had a 2 year old with us and were moved to a bench so he could wiggle and they took our purchases so they wouldn’t be in anyone’s way. This was both thoughtful and necessary considering the sardine like seating and the speed of service. Great fun.

le Relais de l’Entrecote 15 rue Marbeuf 8th
le Relais de l’Entrecote St Germain 20 rue St Benoit 6th
le Relais de l’Entrecote Montparnasse 101 Bd du Montparnasse 6th
le Relais de Venice de l’entrecote Bd Pereire 17th

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a permanent first night dinner for me when I'm jetlagged, want a great meal at a fair price that has been consistent for the 10 plus years that I've come here. A no brainer: how do you want your steak cooked, sit down and enjoy! Only downside is that I never have room for dessert after the copious seconds of the steak, the fries and the brilliant secret sauce!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnypco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it but not so sure...”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Okay, not sure whether we love it or hate it. Second time here, tables very close but no one right beside us for most of meal and we were at the end of a row. Server professional and aloof but could not fault her as things progressed quite well. Salad ok, nothing special, steak was cooked as ordered but strangely did not taste that great and fries just ok. Our memory of first time was of impeccable steak and the best fries! This time, not so much. We really wanted to like this place but in the end felt it was quite factory like, get the crowd in and get them out as quickly as possible. Too bad, we are now on the look out for a better steak place in Paris.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave183732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de l'Entrecote also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Relais de l'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing