We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of grandeur for all”
Review of Le Pre Catelan

Le Pre Catelan
Ranked #136 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the famous Bois de Boulogne, this treasure of French cuisine received 3 stars in the Michelin Guide.
Nyon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A touch of grandeur for all”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My favourite restaurant in Paris. I like the fact that we pass several ladies of the night on our way to this fantastic location - two worlds that meet in Bois de Bologne :) The service is impeccable, the decor is grand, in a hushed kind of way, the menu is fantastic and the wine list could take you several days to read...thankfully, the waiters know their stuff and recommend the best for each dish. I find this restaurant to be much better than the Tour D'Argent both in quality and atmosphere. If you want to impress a loved one on your next trip to Paris - this is definitely the place to do so. It is costly - but worth every penny, cent, centime.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    106
    69
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip to the country, in Paris!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

So near, in the Bois de Boulogne, yet a world away. The silvery setting in a sumptuously restored 19th c. hunting lodge, elegant and classical, gives you the feeling that you have been selected for a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Which you can have as often as your budget will allow. The three hour lunch our party of four savored on a weekday would set you back less than an opera ticket (130 euros, per person, including wines paired with each dish) and easily provided unforgettable drama, passion, and art. Every detail whispered perfection, from the porcelain dishes designed for the presentation of specific creations, to the waiters' confidence, wit, and uncanny ability to second guess every possible need, to the inventive, calibrated, and vigorous cuisine. Take a stroll afterwards in the spectacular garden and gaze up at the specimen trees for a perfect end to your grande bouffe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenValenciennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The food is amazing. The restaurant is beautiful and the grounds are well manicured. This is a 3 Michelin star restaurant....worth the experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lntyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Class !”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We've been there with my love, to celebrate my master's diploma and our pregnancy.
We had lunch on a weekday.
We had a reservation, the service whose just perfect. The maitre d'hotel was just perfect on his job. A waiter for each thing:bred, water, ...
We had great suggestions for the wine
The sommelier new his job and was kind and took the time to discuss with us.
The lunch menu was more than enough. The food was tasteful and very well presented.
As we said in french: "on en a eu pour notre agrent".

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Little F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“outstanding service”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were very pleased to attend a formal dinner at this restaurant. The dinner was very well presented, with perfect size porttions and just the right number of courses. The chef and his team really were outstanding, as were the maitre d' and his service team. WE had an excellent evening. This is a very special place and I would recommend it, but very upscale. Beautiful location with beautiful gardens.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pre Catelan also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Pre Catelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing