We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming final meal in Paris”
Review of Le Petit Pontoise

Le Petit Pontoise
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/27
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #525 of 18,974 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $33 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Description: Le Petit Pontoise is a genuine institution of the 5th district in Paris. It offers typical rich French cuisine in a "bistrot" atmosphere. The chef has been there for over 14 years preparing sophisticated dishes with fresh season products. He finds his inspiration in the most traditional French recipes. Located right next to the Seine river near the Boulevard Saint-Germain, this bistrot is always fully booked, you will meet people from around the world as well as regular Parisian clients which enjoy this typical French cuisine.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

We came here our last night in town and could hardly have asked for a better send-off. We ate rather early by Parisian standards (we were the first dinner customers of the evening, in fact) because we had an early flight the next day but were warmly welcomed nevertheless. My wife had the artichoke tarte as a starter and loved it. I had the parmesan revioles du dauphiné au gratin, also delicious. My wife's duck breast was a winner as was my quail en casserole. We were too full for dessert, but the vieille prune (plum brandy) ceratinly hit the spot. The place is small, so reservations are a good idea. It's not cheap (130 Euro for two courses, although around 54 Euro of that was drinks) but also not outrageous for Saint-Germain-des-Prés.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thedogesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Bonjour !
Thank you for this review. We are glad you enjoyed your last meal in Paris !
And we can see that you like the Vieille Prune which is one of the best "digestif" we have.

A bientôt à Paris

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2016

Walked Latin Quarter looking for out of way place on Friday night. 4 of us in party and able to get seated at 8:30. By far, this was our best dinner in Paris and what I have dreamed French cooking would be like. Value wise, we scored at finding this little bistro on a quiet street in the Quarter. Staff was so gracious to us (4 women). Go there if you are in the neighborhood. Let staff recommend wine pairing for your dinner. They got it right as far as we are concerned. Don't miss this one if you get to Paris.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Bonjour,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this so nice review.

We are very happy you have found us and that you enjoyed your dinner at Le Petit Pontoise.
Our waitress are very expert about wine and also they are wine lovers !

A bientôt !

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We had one of best meals in Paris here. We had the steak and the sauce was delicious. We shared a chocolate lava cake for dessert. Yummy! The service was very good. You need to make sure you make a reservation in advance. It was small and the few tables were close together. Many people were turned away as we sat there.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank gradysdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

whaou ! merci !
Your review is so nice and you did well to choose the chocolate lava cake. it's my favorite, I could have one every day as the team made it so well !

We hope to welcome you soon at Le Petit Pontoise for another culinary experience

A bientôt

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

The food was absolutely excellent. The starter with goat cheese was fantastic and so was the duck as well as the beef steak.
The only negative despite the lovely atmosphere was the high percentage of tourists (admittedly we were one of them) if you are looking for a truly French food experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank MarkusSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup for the review !

A bientôt au Petit Pontoise

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Went here a few years ago (not on the date I've selected). The place is simple, unpretentious, and with a limited menu (on chalkboard on the wall). I had the pigs cheeks stew and it was perfect. The venue is really small, and there is usually just 1 waiter, who has to work pretty hard to serve everyone, but it didn't affect the experience. I have been back once more since then, and it was just as good. I certainly would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HagueTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

What a great review.
I have shared it with the team and we are so proud to read that we are in your list for 'one of the tastiest meals in Paris"

Thank you so much so this review.

A bientôt au Petit Pontoise

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Pontoise also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Pontoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.