We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Taste of France”
Review of Le Petit Pontoise

Le Petit Pontoise
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/27
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #525 of 18,974 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $33 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Description: Le Petit Pontoise is a genuine institution of the 5th district in Paris. It offers typical rich French cuisine in a "bistrot" atmosphere. The chef has been there for over 14 years preparing sophisticated dishes with fresh season products. He finds his inspiration in the most traditional French recipes. Located right next to the Seine river near the Boulevard Saint-Germain, this bistrot is always fully booked, you will meet people from around the world as well as regular Parisian clients which enjoy this typical French cuisine.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

This was our second trip to Paris and our second visit to Le Petit Pontoise. We dined there twice this trip: once on our first evening, and once on our last evening. We had the following dishes which were all prepared very well and were all very delicious: foie gras with fig; quail; veal kidneys; escargots; veal liver; tart tatin; creme brûlée.

Service was friendly and attentive. Dining inside or outside: either one is an excellent option.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cakoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Thank you very much for this kind review and for coming twice during your trip at Le Petit Pontoise.

our recipes are made by our team with traditional French recipes and we are happy that you enjoyed that.

A bientôt

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2016

In two dinners in one week at this lovely restaurant just off the Boulevard St. Germain, my wife and I gloried in the absolutely ethereal French bistro cooking of old: big slabs of well-seasoned terrine de fois gras with fig jam and country toast, haricots verts with crayfish, vinaigrette, and lots of seasoning, the freshest of bar (sea bass) grilled atop very fresh peas, spinach, turnips, and other vegetables with a great sauce, the lightest of homemade small raviolis dauphinois in a chafing dish with melted cheese and seasonings, parmentier of duck confit (a layer of tender, flavorful, slow-cooked duck) topped with a slice of hot fois gras and bottomed with mashed potatoes surrounded by a moat of rich brown sauce, and finally a cast-iron pot of slow-roasted pork cheeks, vegetables, and a sweet, spicy, complex sauce. All were excellent and made us realize how deprived we are in the U.S., or when we go to Provence or the French Riviera, of these tender, fully-seasoned, richly-sauced entrees - with no foam, vapor, or overly pretentious presentations. We accompanied these two dinners with very reasonably priced bottles of dry riesling and Bergerac white wines - really delicious. Our desserts of a molten chocolate cake and a newly-made creme brûlée were just right. The service was friendly and quick. We couldn't have asked for a more delightful evening either visit.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChevyCh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Bonjour !
Thank you for this review and all the details ! We are glad to know that you liked all the meals and you tastes every products we put inside.

Alors merci encore et à bientôt

Le Petit Pontoise
Jonathan & Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food. I've ordered a Poisson du jour - a nice pan fried bream on the bed of vegetables. Very nicely served, very tasty. Friendly, sympathetic service, lovely place :-)!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank RafaelGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Thank you for your comment ! glad you enjoyed our daily market selection !

merci et à bientôt

Le petit Pontoise
Jonathan & Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

This was the last meal on our trip to Paris. Wow...it did not disappoint. The restaurant serves traditional French cuisine and wine. They do a fantastic job of both. The best wine by the glass selection I have seen was matched with fabulous tarts, beet and cheese salad, quail, steak and the like. Do not miss this fantastic place.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank mahays15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Thank you for this review and we are happy to know that you finished with us in a great way !

Our Maitre d'Hotel Ana is very happy to know that you liked the wine selection she made.

A bientôt

Le Petit Pontoise
Jonathan & Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Great food and wine. Ate very well here and enjoyed the lively atmosphere, which was a mix of French locals and tourists. Great value for money also.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TAP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Bonjour !

We have really appreciated your review. Hope to welcome you soon at Le petit pontoise !

A bientôt et thanks for your review !

Le Petit Pontoise
Jonathan & Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Pontoise also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Pontoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.