We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Pontoise

Le Petit Pontoise
Reserve with
Le Petit Pontoise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #187 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Le Petit Pontoise is a genuine institution of the 5th district in Paris. It offers typical rich French cuisine in a "bistrot" atmosphere. The chef has been there for over 14 years preparing sophisticated dishes with fresh season products. He finds his inspiration in the most traditional French recipes. Located right next to the Seine river near the Boulevard Saint-Germain, this bistrot is always fully booked, you will meet people from around the world as well as regular Parisian clients which enjoy this typical French cuisine.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is one of my very favorite restaurants in Paris. The food is great and the ambiance is friendly and casual. Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sallytclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    246
    58
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Still our favourite Paris bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dropped in for a Monday night dinner during our recent visit to Paris, our 4th time at this bistro since 2011. Despite having dined at many Parisian bistros, this is still our favourite. It's a charming little place, with great food at reasonable prices. And the staff are friendly, efficient and always willing to speak English. We will be back for a 5th time when we next visit Paris.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank commodoredavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were wandering around looking for something that didn't look cheap or generic and found this place. We splurged on a good Chablis and had a main each and shared cheese. My scallops were plump and tasty. Had nice meal outside on a warm spring evening that we were very satisfied with.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RKandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic and no too expensive ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Was one of the best Filet Beef I already have.
We tried a Camembert with salad, it was wonderful.
The pork cheek was fantastic also.
Every dishes was very well served. It is NOT french, but you can share.

Helpful?
Thank GeraldoBahiense
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food, but you'll pay for it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Good food is served here. we had 2 dishes each. Each dish was tastefull and quite detailed, but still not enough for top rank. This is due to the prices. Expect at least ~50 euro/pers for 2 dishes and wine...

Helpful?
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Pontoise also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Pontoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing