We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very typical French food consistent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Pontoise

Le Petit Pontoise
Reserve with
Le Petit Pontoise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Le Petit Pontoise is a genuine institution of the 5th district in Paris. It offers typical rich French cuisine in a "bistrot" atmosphere. The chef has been there for over 14 years preparing sophisticated dishes with fresh season products. He finds his inspiration in the most traditional French recipes. Located right next to the Seine river near the Boulevard Saint-Germain, this bistrot is always fully booked, you will meet people from around the world as well as regular Parisian clients which enjoy this typical French cuisine.
TEL-AVIV
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very typical French food consistent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visited them again after a year. Menu remained the same and the same smiling waiters were there. Reastauran is small and crowded as it is very popular and giood quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BALDWIN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    247
    64
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
menemsha
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“petite and sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

this tiny spot was recommended by a francophile neighbor who has been in a love affair with paris for most of his 90 years. the service was fine though not great but i'd adjusted my idea of good service after a couple of weeks. the food is what you'd come here for. heavenly snails, wonderful lamb, warm atmosphere. bingo!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Louis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My Best Meal in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

There were six of us who dined here with reservations several weeks in advance.
It is a cozy smallish restaurant - about a 15 min walk from Ils St Louis.
I believe our waiter was the Chef/owners son who was delightful. It really is difficult to make a selection as everything sounded marvelous.
Many of us ordered the Rack of Lamb - It was perfection! The light sauce was amazing as were the roasted vegetables in the dish. A side order of mashed potatoes were ordered and I dont think I have ever tasted such silky and delicious potatoes ever.
My starter was the Artichoke Tartin - again perfection , others had the mushrooms and snails which were divine.
There is a good wine selection.
Great value for the money -
We are going back in 10 months and this will be first on my list!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City USA
Level Contributor
767 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“A Paris Insider's Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food here is spectacularly good, although the restaurant itself is small and quaint and not spectacular. It is a few streets east of Le Quartier Latin off the Quai de Montebello. The restaurant is so popular, the proprietor was not happy to seat me as a lone diner, but I would take up one of the valuable tables for two. Fortunately, a jolly group of Fashion Week attendees adopted me & invited me to their table. We sampled, between the eight of us, most everything on the menu, including several of the excellent wines. When we were done, we were all stuffed - and, when the bill came, nearly broke. But it still ranks as my best meal ever in Paris. And that's saying something. There is some outside seating, in good weather. Only room for about 40 diners inside, however. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Years ago we stayed at a small hotel around the corner from Le Petit Pontoise restaurant and stopped in for a meal. We've been returning on every trip to Paris since then. A small restaurant serving typical dishes one would expect to find in a French bistrôt, but prepared better than anywhere else. Whether you start with snails or a terrine or as I did on this trip a tarte with artichokes and eggplant you are sure to have the freshest the market offers. The main courses are quite substantial and it's the kind of meal perfect for an autumn day with a morning temperature of 8 C. Both my main course of quail and my husband's of kidneys were served in the pan they had been cooked in and came to the table piping hot and delicious.For the more cautious, I observed some yummy looking meat dishes being served. As one might expect English is spoken fluently althought the clientele seemed to be mostly locals and regulars who were greeted by name. This is a place to return to time and time again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apprehensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Pontoise also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Pontoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing