We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different prices for tourists?”
Review of Au Petit Marguery

Au Petit Marguery
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Au Petit Marguery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,550 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $32 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gobelins
Description: Le Petit Marguery restaurant in Paris' Port-Royal quarter has the soul of a traditional French neighbourhood restaurant of a century ago. The mirrors and columns, fresh flowers, the layers of white table linen, the long-aproned waiters in their waistcoats and bow ties, the dark rose colour scheme create a cosy, comfortable and quite smart milieu.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Different prices for tourists?”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went for Sunday lunch, having enjoyed the meals there before. We opted for the Euro 29 menu, but the smiling maitre de hotel in a dark jacket said it wasn't available at the weekend - until I told him one of the waiters had said it was. (There was no indication on the menu it was weekdays only and I noticed on leaving it was displayed outside.)
Is this "game" reserved for tourists?
The meal on this menu was good except the steak, which was burnt, thin and tough.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    210
    65
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

In Paris for Christmas, we had the Christmas lunch set menu which included (apart from the delicious food) a glass of French champagne (a good one!) and a bottle (!) of Médoc 2009 red. I'd booked by email from Australia and the maitre de greeted us as if we were favoured family members returning after a long absence (it was in fact our first visit). All the staff were friendly and attentive. The other patrons were clearly locals, and regular visitors. The couple next to us were in their 60's-70's, and told me this was the best restaurant in the area. The food? As mentioned above, was delicious and authentic. I won't go into detail, as the menu was specific to Christmas. On the other hand, I'd suggest whatever you choose will be of high quality. The ambience was warm and friendly, rich red velvet curtains at the entrance giving a feeling of warmth and seclusion from the cold outside world. Yes, we'll return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only the French eat here.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had our Christmas lunch here and it was the best choice. We'd had enough of the brassy Bofinger style restaurants over the years on Christmas Day and wanted something more intimate. We found it. We heard no English spoken except by the maître d' who was particularly helpful. The food was excellent and reasonably priced and the ambience perfect. We would certainly go back and highly recommend it if you want to find somewhere off the tourist track and a place where the French eat. Total cost was 100 euros which included a Kia to start with each and a bottle of wine. Their Grand Marnier soufflé is to die for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bostondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious~Au Petit Marguery, Paris”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Took us a minute to order...when everything is in French....but, once we did...DE-LISH! I'm not a huge fan of French food. However, this is a nice romantic place to eat. We were looking for something that was moderately priced, yet delicious and beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AliciaBarnesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant is a bit out of the way if you are staying in the St. Germain District with so many other restaurants closer. It was a 15 minute cab ride from our hotel and it was not convenient to the Metro. The food is very good. The foie gras and the Grand Marnier Souffle were our favorites. The staff was very nice and very patient with our lack of French. Very few, if any, English speakers in the restaurant. One odd thing was that the lights in the restaurant were very bright compared to most other restaurants. Go there if you don't mind an out of the way place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Marguery also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Petit Marguery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing