We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pere Claude

Le Pere Claude
Ranked #3,137 of 15,655 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Recommended by our hotel, we enjoyed superb food and wine! Great service and attention by professional staff who happily spoke English. The staff were very accommodating offering children a simpler alternative to the menu. A perfect little spot for dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DW_TravelJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    96
    50
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pouch Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“From La Mere to Le Pere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Two nights ago we were at La Mere Michele and by fluke last night we ended up at Le Pere Claude. Now of the two I prefer the former but this restaurant had its own charm. We sat on the sidewalk and to avoid couple issues I sat with my back to the traffic of women coursing the street.
We were not overly hungry, my partner wanted a salad but ended up with Poulet et Grrolle smothered in garlicky mushrooms, I experimented with Tete et Langue Veau (head and shoulder of veal) both accompanied by a delightful Sancerre Blanc. Service was friendly helpful and good though as my dish came in a pot to the side of th plate I would have thought they might have served it. The Cafe Gourmand to close came with a small creme brûlée and a chocolate desert, both excellent. Very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
486 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very good starters (try the Terrine Maison) and good french cuisine, although with a relatively limited choice. Professional staff, also English speking.
It has a nice French atmosphers, it is crowded, but the dining room can become (very) noisy.
Anyway, definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pjm_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice, but not for a romantic night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We went to Pere Claude on the advice of our hotelier. I would say it's okay, not too expensive (for Paris) but really sort of mid-range. The menu seemed to be very heavy on the meat dishes. It seemed like a nice neighborhood restaurant to me, but not nice enough for a special night out. For example, very limited selection of apertifs and desserts- I guess we were not really meant to linger there.

The service was really very good and attentive, and the atmosphere friendly. A happy group of Japanese tourists who had been celebrating at the cafe waved at the patrons as they left, and believe it or not, people waved back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not our best experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was recommended by our hotel. While we did not have reservations, we were able to get seated outside. We ordered a bottle of wine and the waitress brought it to our table already uncorked. Unheard of! My husband had a mixed fish dish that was so-so while I had beef with mashed potatoes. The beef was a bit dry. The service here was not the best we experienced during our week long stay. This was also one of the pricier meals we had. There are a lot of restaruants in the Motte-Picquet area that have good food, good service and ambiance. This one lacked.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddandTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pere Claude also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Pere Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing