We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill?”
Review of Le Grand Venise

Le Grand Venise
Ranked #3,534 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Gone downhill?”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I hesitated to write this review after giving Le Grande Venise a rave review in October 2011 and having enjoyed several subsequent meals there, but when we went for lunch a few days ago it was a big let down. For a start the service was unsmiling and unwelcoming and also somewhat chaotic. They forgot basic things like butter and then the cheese that usually comes at the beginning of the meal and we had to wait for the wine. Annoyingly a table of French people who came in after us was served first with everything.
The food was ok but the whole atmosphere was wrong and we all agreed it would be our last visit. A great shame as we had always enjoyed The Grand Venise experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank multitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    29
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Friendly Italian owned and as typically Italian as you can be in Paris, The lady owner was lovely. The restaurant is a little old looking in a tired French sort of way. It is on a main road and all taxis know where it is which helps as a lot of good restaurants are down tiny roads which are hard to find. Some of the waiting staff speak good English others none at all so be careful to get the right one. No English menus if I remember rightly.
The food is very good and very large portions. I had a lobster linguini which was as good as I have ever eaten. My partner had the lasagna which he enjoyed as well.
Tip :They make their own gelato, definitely leave some space for the one with caramel on it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmanuelleDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We dined here as a party of four, us and another couple, and it is an experience not to forget - we enjoyed a very welcoming group of owner, servers, excellent cuisine, etc., and I cannot imagine where a "rushed" feeling would come in at this restaurant. Nothing could have been further from the truth for us, as we were there for at least two hours for dinner, desserts, after-dinner drinks, etc. We truly felt like we had known them for years! The food was amazing!

I could not readily remember the name of this restaurant, but did notice a picture below on another's review, which looked very familiar - my husband and I have a picture of ourselves at this very table and I recognized the painting AND the statue, LOL.

We ate at other restaurants in Paris where the "salad was in a basket" to serve yourself, so this was entertaining to us - can't get any fresher!

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by a couple who travels the world, yet insist on dining here each time they visit Paris - and we can certainly understand why!

Wish we could return soon, if only for desserts alone, ha-ha!!!

Bon appetit!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DomineeHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Voted best restaurant in Europe for a number of years!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the best italian food I have tasted in my life!! Italian food lovers have shamefully admitted to eating better Italian food in this Parisian restaurant than back in Italy! Do reserve, dont believe you will be allowed to walk in, don't worry it's worth it. The restaurant is owned by a charming elderly lady who has been runinng this establishment for decades now (her husband passed away, but she still does an immaculate job). The waiters are top notch, the atmosphere could be brought up to date, but who cares when you are served this quality of dishes. Pastas are to die for, salads are a must & do not miss out on the Carmel ice cream (comes out in a huge block and is sliced at you table)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerSaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Eating İtalian food in Paris, might be a little awkward but we've heard many compliments about this restaurant and tried to experience it in person. The food was extremely good and the woman informing us about the courses was very very successful in her job. She found out what we would like to have by questions. We all admired her and the food we had!!! For the ones who like seafood, seafood lasagna is highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Ayse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Venise also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Grand Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing