We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food and above average French service.”

Le Grand Cafe Capucines
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Grand Cafe Capucines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #989 of 17,515 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Description: The restaurant's refined decor is a faithful illustration of the Art Nouveau style, with its original mosaics and its crystal Saint-Louis chandeliers a truly Parisian institution located on the Place des Ternes. The head chef prepares a refined, traditional French cuisine using the freshest ingredients. An immensely popular restaurant with both Parisians and discerning tourists, who appreciate beautifully prepared food. --Veritable insitution parisienne de la place des Ternes, son decor raffine est fidele au style "Art Nouveau" avec ses mosaiques d'origine et ses lustres de cristal de Saint-Louis, le Chef de cuisine propose une carte traditionnelle raffinee offrant un large choix de produits frais. Son banc d'ecailles en est d'ailleurs une belle illustration.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Convenient location, real candle lit dinner and stiff upper-lipped French service. But at least the servers are professional and efficient. Good food at reasonable price and they thank you when you left.
Ordering a la carte works out better than the prix fix and excellent dessert (pricey but very good).
Would definitely will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bingo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Cafe Capucines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writting such a nice and warm review about Le Grand Café Capucines.
We are truly happy that you enjoyed your candle-lit-dinner, the food and the service.
We hope to welcome you again during your next visit in Paris.

Kind regards,
Chloé P. Customer
Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
There are newer reviews for Le Grand Cafe Capucines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 308 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is super ornate – heavy red velvet, gold and wood interior and gives the impression of being stuffy. It wasn’t really that stuffy but I also wasn’t that impressed. The atmosphere and dinner itself were so-so. I imagine there are other, better places in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Cafe Capucines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review about Le Grand Café Capucines.
We feel sorry that you weren't completly satisfied with your experience.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Chloé P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stopped here on Sunday afternoon for lunch after being at the museums without having seen some of the reviews here-big mistake. We chose a table outside. It took about 15 minutes to get menus after we tried to get the waiter's attention at least 4 times. Then we got the menus, it was another 15 minutes to place our order. We also had to wait for the wine list as well. The waiter brought our water with no glasses. Then set our table with the wrong cutlery for the meal we ordered. Then we got our wine and again, no glasses. It was at least 30 minutes by the time we got glasses to drink the water & wine. We ordered their specialty fish and shellfish soup. When they arrived, the waiter cut open the puff pastry on top and promptly left us without spoons to eat with. Again, we had to wait to get someone's attention so we could get spoons to eat the soup. The soup was very tasty and the bottle of wine was good. But the service was the worst ever and not worth the money paid. In hindsight, we should have left like the three other parties that sat down and then got up whilst we were there. A total waste of our time & money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BreezeAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Cafe Capucines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review about Le Grand Café Capucines. We feel truly sorry and would like to apologize for this bad experience.

I understand your disappointment and I am susprised by your comment which does not reflect the quality of service we aim to provide to each and every guests. I have already shared your comments to the restaurant's Director so that such a problem never happens again.
We would be most grateful if you could give us a little bit of your time and send us your email or phone number so that we can contact you to understand what happened.
Again, we apologize.

Kind regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe[a]blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great Art Deco Bistro that it´s open 24 hours and serves extremely fresh seafood. The staff is always friendly and the service is very good. You always feel welcome. The sommelier are knowledgeable and the oysters are delicious. I´ve come every year for many years and I´ve never been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tishlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Cafe Capucines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writting such a nice and warm review about Le Grand Café Capucines. Your compliments have been forwarded to the managing staff!
It is a great pleasure to read that you remain true to our restaurant and keep enjoying its specialties such as seafood!

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind Regards.

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Charming Mr. Eddy will make you feel like an old friend, and you can trust him to select a great wine at a reasonable price just tell him what you want to spend. The seafood was fresh and the service was excellent. We returned the next evening just for an evening drink at the sidewalk tables. Close to the Marriott Ambassador.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PittsburghPhil70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe Capucines also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe Capucines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing