We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Gem!”
Review of Le Fumoir

Le Fumoir
Ranked #432 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Le Gem!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Le Fumior is not only perfectly located near the Louvre, but a lovely place for lunch or dinner with family or friends. Delicious food (roasted pork with crispy rind - YUM) and excellent, kind service. I was hooked and returned over and over during my two-week stay in Paris in April of 2013. It will be where I head for my first meal when I return to Paris!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    433
    131
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cocktails near the Louvre”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited Le Fumoir after spending an afternoon at the Louvre. It was a great spot to relax with a cocktail after a day at the museum. The drinks were excellent and the atmosphere was great. It's reminiscent of an old privagte club with leather chairs and bookshelves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

La Fumoir is in a very touristy area in Paris ( near the Louvre) so I was probably not expecting the lovely experience that we had there. Beautiful old colonial feel to the room with dark leather and lots of books in the back room make you feel you are in a private club. We did not eat as we were just passing, but started with Champagne cocktails sitting in seats at the window watching the world go by. The service was excellent and we should have listened to our waitress when she suggested a bottle instead of the two glasses of excellent Chablis that we ordered next. 3 very happy hours later we finally left with a very large bill and big smiles on our faces. Next time in Paris it will be the first place we head for and we will try the food ....and order by the bottle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catgcatgGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Paris!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been to La Fumoir on at least five occasions, each time just for the coffee. The coffee is delicious, whether espresso, cafe latte, cafe glace or cafe au lait. The service is exceptional - professional and courteous. The experience is a delight - a beautiful room, excellent attentive service and perfect coffee served with tasty, crunchy, thin biscuits (I would love the recipe!) and water.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 975Sue1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“As the name implies, this place ends up being smokey”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Paris, a place that used to be famous for smokers and smoking has pretty much given up that tradition and banned it, as have most western countries. In this particular restaurant, the "banning" only means that people have to go outside. That means in the winter months that they stand right by the door and smoke. What happens? All of the smoke comes right back into the restaurant. This doesn't seem to bother the smokers, since they appear to think, "If I can take the smoke directly into my lungs, why should a little bit of it bother those inside of the restaurant..."

This issue ruined the experience of "Le Fumoir" for me. The drinks were pricey; the atmosphere was nice. The location is perfect. The service was great. But the smoke is not nice at all.

The simple solution for this place would be for them to post the outside ashtray away from the one and only door to the restaurant. I don't understand the logic to making smoking convenient to smokers (the minority of the population) to the detriment of all other customers (the majority).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fumoir also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Fumoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing