We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnifique”

Le Comptoir du Relais
Ranked #699 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“magnifique”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Absolutely fabulous food. We both had the daube which was delicious. We had read of surly service but everyone was charming . Go early or late to avoid the queues for lunch ( we went at 3pm and got the one empty table straight away). This will undoubtedly be a restaurant we return to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEWMST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    384
    161
    104
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
193 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“classical french with a twist”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

we arrived by noon, otherwise good luck with seating...i started my meal with one of my favorite entrees, oeufs mayonnaise, which was excellent...the mayonnaise great served with a quarter of a cabbage with a light vinaigrette and tiny onion rings which added a nice crunch to the dish...also had braised beef (shoulder cut) with roasted vegetables served up with a classical sauce...great meal...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful bistro”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great menu with a lot to select from, artichoke salad delicious, foie gras dishes best in the city, rack of pork mouth watering, desserts incredible. Brush up on your french, no one speaks english, it is Paris after all. It will spoil you,for any future bistros you might go to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth the wait - and it wasn't that long!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have tried to get a dinner reservation here a number of times and have never been successful. We were walking down the street on a chilly & damp day and were getting ready for lunch. Realizing where we were we stopped at Le Comptoir. The place was packed but the line was short. 20 minutes later we were seated at a small window table. I understand why reservations are nearly impossible to get - the food is excellent & the restaurant very small.
The lobster bisque was fantastic. Rich and warm in all the right ways. The Provencal stuffed squid was really good. I also enjoyed the steak - great, earthy, rich sauce. They are very focused on excellent quality ingredients and make a point of saying who butchered the meat. Nice wines with a good number of half bottle selections.
I am glad we found ourselves in the right place at the right time and had the opportunity to enjoy this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Paris...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Le Comptoir in early January of this year. We had seen it featured on The Travel Channel, read about it, etc. and the results definitely lived up to the hype! We arrived around 12:30 on a weekday and waited MAYBE 10 minutes to get a seat outside. Despite it being chilly, the staff gave my wife a blanket and there were overhead heaters to keep everyone toasty.

The service was fantastic.....the wait staff, from the maitre d' to our specific waiter could not have been friendlier. My wife and I know just enough French to be able to order a meal, but the wait staff speaks English, as well. In typical French style, our orders are taken quickly, our food arrives quickly and then we are left alone to enjoy our wine/ambiance of the neighborhood....which is exactly what we like.

As for the food quality and prices.....I'm hard pressed to think of another meal that we've had in our travels through Europe that combined such high quality with such a reasonable cost. From the first course, to the last course (and the wine) the prices were extremely reasonable. We each ordered something for a first course, our main course and a desert, along with a liter of wine and a coffee and the bill was substantially less than 100 euro.

We will definitely be back on our next trip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Relais also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing