We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great except for beef cut” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistrot du Peintre

Le Bistrot du Peintre
Ranked #2,008 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: République
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great except for beef cut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great environment for eating in the winter as there's heating and glass windows to observe the things outside. Waiter spoke very good English and was very nice. We had the French onion soup which was the best so far. However, their specialty beef cut (the first one of the three in the list) was not so great; we ordered it medium rare but it was difficult to eat/chew through it. Not sure if they know how to cook beef as I have yet to find a good place for beef.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerforever2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    147
    49
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food - rudest waiter in life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tried this spot by we wanted to check out the 11 arr, we didnt know what we were ordering, though this did not prevent us from a good meal here or otherwise. Duck confit blew my socks off. However, waiter was incredibly rude. Like the stereotype. He was a young hipster guy with scorn in his eyes, disregarding our requests and plopping food and utensils in front of us like we were nemeses.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akaufteil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My mom and I ate dinner here. We ordred 2 plates (eggplant lasagna and a salmon cake), 2 glasses of wine, and shared 1 dessert. We arrived starving and left full. Everything was excellent, except the dressing on the salad was too strong for our taste. The total bill was almost 40 euros. The waiters spoke excellent English and offered to translate the menu for us and recommended dishes. We would eat here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sg122341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackney, London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A mediocre experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ate here on Saturday night. Of the three places we dined over our long weekend this was by far the worst. The onion soup was delicious, hearty and warming, but the main courses of duck and chicken were really disappointing - dry, overcooked and chewy. The service was average. Might be fine for a lunch or breakfast, or a coffee if you're nearby but I wouldn't go out of my way to come here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HackneyLoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
166 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The place is beautiful, old Brasserie very French style but service was not the top in my opinion and the "carte" was very unclear.
we sat down in their terrasse, people were able to smoke which was not fine, in Ireland for instance people wouldn't be allowed to smoke in similar area.
we had:
salade de ravioles-14.40 euros
poisson du jour-12.50 euros
tarte a l'orange-5.70 euros
1 cheese cake-6.50 euros

We hadn't finished the drinks when we were asked if we wanted coffee. Was a little bit rude

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot du Peintre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bistrot du Peintre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing