We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Seafood in Saint Germain, Paris”

Le Bar a Huitres Saint-Germain
Reserve with
Le Bar a Huitres Saint-Germain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #762 of 17,292 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $184
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood in Saint Germain, Paris”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, specialized in "Haute Mer" food, is very well located and serves excellent seafood. It is quite expensive, though. I suggest you sit outside, for they charge a bit less for the Le Cap Ferrat set menu if you do. And avoid getting carried away and drinking champagne (as I and my daugther did), for they charge 19 euros per glass. Anyway, it was a magnificent lunch we had at 4 pm on a sunny day, the best seafood I've ever tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    302
    144
    83
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Dorr - one of the good seafood restaurants in Paris”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good restaurant to visit, if you like seafood. Of course, consider to have french service - sometimes very good, sonetimes you think they do not see you at all :)
But in generall- not bad. A little bit overcrowded, but all the stuff is fresh, this is very important. Good vines, rather overpriced, be prepared to spend around 100€ / person. Inkl vine, of course. Or even more, if you take something else or next bottle. 8-12€ for a bottle of water etc.
So, the better restaurants will deliver a higher bill, the brasseries will give you cheeper food, but not that seafood variety. Actually- recommended, i have visited it many times

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Six of us went to this place for a family dinner. We took oysters, seafood and deserts. Great food is not unusual in Paris. But we were also delighted by really warm service and contemporary design of the restaurant. So, our overall experience was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisitski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“all food was amazing”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

you never know until yo go in and try but the entrance was enticing and we wanted oysters and seafood

escargot, seafood soup, normandie oysters, mussels etc were incroyable and the dessert at the end was excellent

can only comment from my experience but everything was great

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 999PeterA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great customer attention and even greater oysters”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Trying to find a hot drink and some yumyums on a rainy day, ducked into this great looking restaurant on Rue St Jacques. The maitre'd was a bit offputting but the waiters were great. The maitre'd didnt say anything or made eye contact after we were seated which suited me fine.

We ordered a dozen oysters and unfortunately, did not like half of the selection. The waiter came to enquire if we liked them, and when we said no, he offered to change them. That's customer service. Wanted to come back but kept getting distracted with other restaurants in Paris. This is a wonderful place for its champagne, oysters and crepe suzette. Their toilet is extremely funky with black and white toilet paper!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bar a Huitres Saint-Germain also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bar a Huitres Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing