We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great tradition”
Review of Laduree

Laduree
Ranked #39 of 317 Dessert in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $116
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great tradition”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic if you fancy something small like a pastry or a full meal . The best for an afternoon pick me up, Chocolate Eclair and hot Chocolate what's not love !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    403
    183
    93
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere and the hot chocolate”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had only been told about the hot chocolate and macarons when we stopped at Laduree for lunch on a chilly, rainy October day. The opulent decor is a bit overwhelming but the multitude of cute young waitstaff were all very charming and immediately seated us upstairs. The four of us were at a small table next to the passageway to the drink station and toilettes, perhaps not the best seats in the house, but we did get to observe the staff bustling among the tables and back and forth to the drink station and then further back to the kitchen to pick up orders. When it came to ordering and waiting for the food, everything was at an extremely leisurely pace, so avoid this if you are on a schedule.
The food was delicious, but...from the overdoneness of the bottom pastry of the vol au vent, I suspect it had been kept waiting too long in the oven. (Others who ordered after us were served first. Was it our American-ness, or just bad planning in the kitchen?) The smoked salmon appetizer was generous, but frankly, I've had better salmon in Seattle. The overwhelming winner was the chocolat viennois - very dark and pudding-thick, served with whipped cream, and caffeinated enough to keep me buzzing for 24 hours, a good thing for a tourist.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fhorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still terrific!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Since it has expanded and now has stores in several countries, Laduree has taken some hits, particularly from the French, who don't seem to like sharing this excellent bakery and macaron maker. Don't listen to the critics and naysayers. The macaron are still the best in Paris. Pierre Herme, just down the street, is also good, but not as good as Laduree. The sit down restaurant attached is just ok, and overpriced, but does have magnificent hot chocolate. But better yet, buy some macaron, a financier or other pastries in the shop, then head to the Luxembourg Gardens and enjoy them outdoors!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“WHY A PLACE LIKE THIS DOESN'T FOLLOW THE PERFECTION IT HAS TO ACHIEVE?”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went there with a lot of expectations.Ordered 4 macarons me and 4 my wife.During our trip we visited the best 15 patisseries in Paris.One macaron cost 2 euros!!2 were absolutely perfect and fresh,the other 2, felt like bubble gum.
Overevaluated.Better Hermes or Mulot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mirkoscrofani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best macaroon cookies in France”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Famous for their macaroon cookies....but also a very good place to eat dinner at a very fair price....being right on the Champs Élysées.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laduree also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Laduree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing