We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap trading on its view and history”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tour d'Argent

Tour d'Argent
Ranked #250 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $91 - $321
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap trading on its view and history”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The view, decor and service are impeccable, but the food was very disappointing. The signature duckling was merely grilled duck breast, without sauce and accompanied by over-boiled unseasoned vegetables and leathery slices of truffle that added no flavour whatsoever. The plate was decorated with three blobs of a thick brown sauce that tasted like bottled BBQ sauce; the same three blobs of brown sauce that was inexplicably also on my appetiser, scallops tartare. It reminded me of hotel food in the 90s. The rich history of the restaurant and the beautiful view are not enough to recommend visiting La Tour d'Argent. For me it was all pageantry and no performance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastRack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    269
    124
    58
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic View....not so fantastic food”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The restaurant has a beautiful view over the Seine and Notre Dame - the food was pretty tasty, but once again, nothing much to write home about. However the service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eleanor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergeRousseau, Responsable relations clients at Tour d'Argent, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Contributor,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an article about our restaurant in a Trip Advisor after your last visit to La Tour d’ Argent.



Thank you very much for your attention. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in the future to La Tour d’Argent.

Your Sincerely,

Serge ROUSSEAU
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We visited for lunch, and took advantage of the lunch menu.
Restaurant is nice and some of the views are wonderful. The restaurant patrons were very casual... In my opinion, inappropriately dressed for a restaurant of this style.
The amuse bouche was beautiful, but tasteless... And the rest of the meal was not appropriately seasoned. As a trained chef, I understand that the French season differently than Americans. This was not the issue... Course after course was beautiful but disappointing.
The service was not of Michelin quality.
Overall, this was a disappointing experience.
For more insights into this and other destinations, check out full city guides on http://whitsend2014.blogspot.com

Helpful?
4 Thank WhitsEnd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For us the staff made it!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had the 7 course taster menu with a bottle of red that was suggested to us. We would probably say that 4 out of the 7 courses were really lovely, the other 3 we're average. However the staff we're amazing, from the sommelier to the waiting staff they were very attentive without being in your face, but more importantly very quickly sussed out that me and my husband are quite relaxed people who tend to find humour in most things and were, as the evening drew on, very entertaining! For me - this made our evening. This shouldn't put off people who prefer a different atmosphere as they seemed amazingly astute as to the kind of service people required. I would give the service 5 out of 5 any day and would definitely go back - if just to see the staff again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergeRousseau, Responsable relations clients at Tour d'Argent, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Contributor,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an article about our restaurant in a Trip Advisor after your last visit to La Tour d’ Argent.



Thank you very much for your attention. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in the future to La Tour d’Argent.

Your Sincerely,

Serge ROUSSEAU
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Formal French in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Legendary restaurant lives up to its esteemed history. Delicious food in a breathtaking room overlooking the Seine. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I do not speak French and was made to feel very comfortable- with no hauteur or attitude. I will revisit every time I am looking for a special experience in Paris- there is nothing like it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergeRousseau, Responsable relations clients at Tour d'Argent, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Contributor,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an article about our restaurant in a Trip Advisor after your last visit to La Tour d’ Argent.



Thank you very much for your attention. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in the future to La Tour d’Argent.

Your Sincerely,

Serge ROUSSEAU
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour d'Argent also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Tour d'Argent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing