We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but didn't really connect for us”

La Fontaine de Mars
Ranked #244 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but didn't really connect for us”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

On a rainy cold night it was a warm and inviting restaurant, near the Eiffel Tower. We had higher expectations for the food, but they were not met. It could only be considered average. The service was good, and the place was busy, with mostly English speaking patrons (at least up stairs where we were sat). It might have been an off night for us, but based upon many other positive TA reviews, maybe worth a try another time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    478
    162
    54
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We had 3 separate references, plus the President ate there”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 different people recommend this restaurant. Plus, there was a plaque saying that President Obama ate there. We were not disappointed. We started with the escargot. They were outstanding. We had chicken, Dover sole, and cassoulet. Every dish was excellent. They recommended a bottle of wine that accompanied the meal perfectly. The service was very good. Add our recommendation to the 3 we started with!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbirmingham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant, near Rue de L'Exposition”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a very cosy restaurant and good an relax meal.
On top, US president Obama went here with his family.
This restaurant is very close to Rue de L'Exposition, where many galleries take place,
this is also good location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierreYaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having read reviews of this restaurant, we called in without a reservation on Sunday lunchtime. The place was packed (with locals - always a good sign), but they kindly found a table for us.

Quite formal, with lovely tablecloths and napkins, the waiting staff were amazing, explaining every detail of the menu and the specials. We had come for one thing - the Cassoulet. It was as good as other reviews had said, perfectly cooked, amazingly tasty (and filling!) and without doubt the star of the show.

We couldn't fault the ambience, the food, the wine, the service, the location or the price. Happy customers!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, order carefully”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This restaurant comes highly reviewed as a traditional French restaurant. We did not have a booking but were there at opening time and got in I think because we made the effort to speak French. It is busy, the service is very good. We overordered the food and would recommend care in ordering. One of us had L'escargot which were very good followed by the Plat de Jour which was steak. We are from Australia and like Argentinians have an excellent appreciation of good steak. Sadly the fillet mignon was not up to standard - tough though cooked appropriately to medium rare. One of us had cassolet (pork sausages and precooked duck with beans) . The duck was over salted (and inedible) though the pork sausage was delicious. The amount was too large - but that was our problem of over ordering and not appeciating portion sizes so be careful with that. We would attend this restaurant again but be a bit more discerning in our choice of dishes. The food was relatively expensive with one water and one pot of red wine and the dishes above the bill was over 100 euro.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiningaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontaine de Mars also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Fontaine de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing