We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An artist dinner”

La Closerie des Lilas
Get food delivered
Ranked #1,730 of 19,849 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notre-Dame-des-Champs
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

The fascinating promise that this place helds because all of the artists and writers that dined there is fully kept by the delicious and well prepared food.
The table setting is charming and the dehors is the perfect setting for a nice dinner. We had oysters, raw turbot and the boullon as starter. For main, the Hemingway filet is cooked in front of you with a delicious bourbon sauce. The chicken was marinated and incredibly tender. For dessert we had the chocolate in three states that does not need a description, and the tarte tatin.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank picchio85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
la Closerie des... L, Directeur général at La Closerie des Lilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

La Closerie des Lilas warmly thanks you for your comment.
We are glad that you enjoyed dinner with us, we always prepare our dishes with quality products and a lot of care.
We hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

La Closerie Des Lilas is a landmark restaurant not far from Notre Notre-Dame. It is the place where Hemingway. Ezra Pound, Henry Miller and other famous writers and artists ate and drank (to excess) 100 years ago. It oozes with charm. Gorgeous place with outdoor, semi outdoor, and indoor seating with a piano player. A can’t miss spot when you visit Paris. The service is professional and impeccable. The kind of place where every waiter is dressed to kill and knows everything about every dish. Keep in mind there are 2 menus. One for the brassiere (pub) and one for the restaurant. You can afford this. You should do this! It’s a rare and inspiring experience. By the way, the food was excellent. The sauce in the meat...exquisite. Don’t miss it!

Date of visit: August 2019
4  Thank fairbanks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
la Closerie des... L, Directeur général at La Closerie des Lilas, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

The whole team of La Closerie des lilas is delighted with your comment.
We work every day to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience.
See you soon !
La Closerie des Lilas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

I love this place in Paris, the food and cocktails are great, service is very good- attentive and professional. The place itself is very romantic, especially when the man in the main room playing piano/ I defiantly recommend this place if you looking for some romantic french experience..

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
la Closerie des... L, Directeur général at La Closerie des Lilas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

We thank you for the review you have published and for your recommendation to other guests.

It is a pleasure for us to offer you a good french dining experience and we hope that you will soon want to renew it.

See you soon !

La Closerie des Lilas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Was a bit worried in reading about other people's service complaints, but I cannot say enough about how well we were treated and served, from beginning to end. I had the red tuna and my partner had the John Dory fish, with a veg starter, all were well-presented and delicious. Although I must say when I saw some other tables getting the beef filet I had tuna regret, but never mind, it was fabulous. Great atmosphere, nice piano music, lovely setting - all in all a very positive experience

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank goPrendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
la Closerie des... L, Directeur général at La Closerie des Lilas, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

The whole team of La Closerie des lilas is delighted with your comment.

We work every day to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience.

We hope to see you soon to try the Hemingway Beef Fillet !

La Closerie des Lilas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Amazing. Upon recommendation of our friend who lives in Paris, my wife and I stopped in during lunch service. The restaurant is rich with history of famous Parisians and international authors (think Hemingway) who frequented this restaurant and houses a kitchen that will make your mouth water and satisfy your appetite.

It is traditional French cuisine that embodies the type of food and atmosphere that everyone thinks of when they imagine French food. Every dish was incredible. The atmosphere was perfect. The service was impeccable.

My wife and I spent 10 days in Paris and of all the restaurants we went to there are three we always rave about, La Closerie des Lilas being one of them. Do yourself a favor and dine at this restaurant midday while you roam through the left bank.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank TommyBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
la Closerie des... L, Directeur général at La Closerie des Lilas, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

We thank you for the review you have published and for your recommendation to other guests.

It is also a pleasure for us to offer you a good dining experience and we hope that you will soon want to renew it...

See you soon !

La Closerie des Lilas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Closerie des Lilas also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Closerie des Lilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.