We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family dinner in Paris”

Auberge Pyrenees Cevennes
Ranked #497 of 20,174 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: 11th Arr. - Popincourt
Description: L’Auberge Pyrénées Cévennes, vieux bistrot parisien du 11ème arrondissement de Paris, est un repère de classiques de la Bistronomie française. Ce lieu atypique à l’image du bistrot traditionnel et ancestral (la maison a plus de 100 ans !). Pierre Négrevergne y propose donc de beaux classiques : la blanquette de veau et le cassoulet (plats phare de la maison) les harengs pomme à l’huile et son célèbre pâté en croûte qui lui a valu la 4ème position au championnat du monde 2015. Le décor y est immuable, on se croirait dans une Auberge de Province aux effluves de plats qui mijotent doucement, on y fait bombance dans la bonne humeur et les saveurs oubliées, mais désormais inoubliables.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Great options for food, we all have different tastes and we found the perfect dish for all of us, plus we loved what everyone else was having! (Cassoullet, Roasted goose, Ravioli, desserts). Nice atmosphere without the rush of Paris.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 437 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

We were here last week and it was a highlight of our first Parisian trip! The restaurant was very warm and inviting, and run by a family. The employees seemed happy. We walked in right at 7pm when they opened, since we didn't have reservations. The chef was having a meal with his dog in the dining room and greeted us. A super sweet young waiter greeted us while putting on his apron and promptly seated us. The place just had a really nice, relaxed homey vibe.

All of the food was great, but the main courses were the most memorable. My husband found this place, because he loves cassoulet and this restaurant did not disappoint. The cassoulet comes out in these large copper pots, and the waiters serve you from the pot in the dining room. It's clearly their signature dish, because I don't think there was a single table that didn't have at least one bowl of it. The dish was so hearty and rich.

I had the pig trotters which, if you're into offal and unusual cuts of meat---for Americans, it was fantastic! They boiled the feet first and then pan fried it in a crumb coat for a soft interior and crunchy exterior. It was a substantial dish that despite my best effort, I couldn't finish. They served it with a delicious parsley sauce that was definitely needed to cut the richness. You also have to be a patient eater, because because it takes quite a while to remove every little bone. It's well worth it though if you're into this kind of food!

The service was excellent and all the staff seemed to know some basic English to help us through our poor French. They were all working hard and seemed to really be enjoying themselves. I especially liked the waiter with the bow tie. He was so adorable! We had a such a great meal that it was one of the rare occasions where we chose to be American and leave a tip for them. When we left, they all bade us good night and yelled something that we didn't understand. I would definitely return when we're back in Paris!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ATXTriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We've been visiting since 2001 and find that it is still one of the best places to go in Paris. We haven't tried everything on the menu because we're hooked on our favorites. Most recently we had the piperade (soft-scrambled eggs with ham, sausage and peppers,) calf liver with onions, goose confit, and profiterolles. Other items we've enjoyed include the cassoulet, the veal chop, the salmon, and the tarte tatin. Even the seemingly ordinary hard-boiled eggs with mayonnaise looked enticing. The service is friendly and the room is not overly noisy. it is not cheap, but the prices are fair for the quality of the ingredients, portion size and the cooking. No corners are cut.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

Patronne is welcoming you with her tonic voice "Salut les Gones" and you already feel 500km southern in Lyon, then Christelle smile at you and you travel even further!
Antoine is the Normand guy pure butter and kindness!
After the plays is in your plates on the beautiful traditional table clothing... gastronomic travel thru France without leaving your chair: Pyrenees, Lyon, Carcassonne.... and much more. Same for the wine coming from all around!
If you re lucky and if the chef is not too busy in the kitchen with the Boyz, he will greet you with his large smile.
You leave the place full and feeling like "gosh, when canna come back here!"
Love you Constantin family

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngelCooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

A college friend recommended this restaurant to me before we left on our trip. I’ve never been so happy for a recommendation.

This is traditional French food in a traditional country setting. It’s warm and inviting from the minute you enter. Our server was delightful and helpful in recommendations. The price point is perfect including the wine list.

We tried as much as we could on the menu (there is a pre fix but we wanted combinations that didn’t work with those offerings so we went off the main menu). The escargot, fois gras and ravioli as starters were all memorable. The main courses were even better - steak au poivre, liver and, of course, the cassoulet. There are really no words to adequately describe the cassoulet. It is that good. My only word of advice is that the cassoulet pots are big enough that two relatively hungry people could easily manage with an order for one. Not that I left much over, but I probably could have eaten less.... We did make room for dessert. The standout was the Chocolate Mousse but the apple tart was not far behind.

It was a meal we will not forget.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank schdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Pyrenees Cevennes also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Auberge Pyrenees Cevennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing