We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best couscous...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Atlas

L'Atlas
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
L'Atlas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,049 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best couscous...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Not the best, my mum makes the best.... but close.
Had a great couscous royal, with lamb, merguez, meatballs, kebab...
Great service, great food, great price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wap13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    79
    19
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2 Dinners Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place has excellent seafood, and damn good steak frites. Wife and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I were originally roaming Saint Germain searching for Coupole. But after some time, we passed by L'Atlas and were lured in by their display of fresh seafood. The atmosphere is not much, no scenic views. But the waiters were friendly, apt and efficient. Menu were handed as soon as we were seated. The waiter spoke English and was prepared to answer questions and explain items. My husband and I ordered their 18.5 Euros menu, and for that we were pleasantly surprised by a mouth-watering onion soup topped with rich molten cheese, served very hot. That was followed by the main course, which was a rather small piece of white fish, served with nice creamy cheese sauce and pasta. For desert, we ordered their creme custard, which was more or less the regular creme brule, and it was exquisite. French fries were hot and crunchy, but not complimentary as is the case in most Parisian restaurants. My husband, being the seafood gourmet that he is, ordered also a customized seafood plateau (made up of a few oysters, snails and shrimps), which were fine, but rather pricey. On the whole, it was a very successful experience and well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Moroccan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I eat at L'Atlas everytime I go to Paris. The atmosphere is great, location excellent and the service is wonderful. There is probably better Moroccan food in Paris, but this is such a charming restaurant it is worth the visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Prlski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“North African cuisine kicked up a notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

After a week of mostly successful Parisian restaurant dining, culminating in a substantial late New Year's Eve meal, we found our appetites returning New Years Day evening, and decided we needed a change of pace for dinner. My wife pulled this place from the blogosphere, and fate smiled on us.

We have eaten couscous several times in Paris before, but L'Atlas is a more elevated experience than the usual hole in the wall joint. The interior is very brightly lit (probably too much so, frankly), with white walls in a faux, highly detailed Arabic relief. This is a white-table-cloth restaurant with nice stemware; the waiters are in suits and ties.

Complimentary small dishes of a variety of excellent olives and exotically seasoned cooked chunks of carrots and potatoes stimulated our appetites while we perused the extensive menu.

We split a starter, "Assortiment de delices marocains" (12 Euro) and delicious indeed were the eight or more small servings of carrots in rose water, three different tomato compotes, eggplant puree, spinach, broad beans, etc, each with it's own distinct identity, but harmonious together, served with a plain and fairly uninteresting white bread.

We both elected to have couscous, which is offered in a multitude of meats. We had the couscous princier (23 Euro each), which included succulent grilled lamb on a kebab, chicken (a thigh and leg), stewed veal and merguez sausage, all of the highest quality and complexly seasoned. The couscous itself was ethereal; small grains were steamed to a cloud-like consistency, with a large bowl of the deeply flavored steaming broth to slather over the couscous. Chunks of vegetables in the broth rounded out the meal. Condiments of smoky, not too radioactive harissa, spicy fava beans, and succulently seasoned raisins allowed one to mix and match flavors ad infinitum. The portion sizes were enormous.

We had a surprisingly attractive Moroccan rose of Syrah, Domaine Riad Jamil 2010 (30 Euro) with the meal that was full bodied but with nice acidity, and which was a great food wine.

Too full to attack dessert, we called for the tab which came to 88 Euro. The waiter was a bit apologetic that the place was only about half full, and said that normally it was fully booked at both lunch and dinner. It was however a Sunday New Year's Day evening, and I find it easy to believe that this could be a very popular table to snag. There was an outdoor seating area that was full, which had been visqueened in for the cool damp evening, and the large but cosy main dining room.

Service was professional and warm. We booked online in the mid-afternoon thru Bookatable.com and were pleasantly surprised to find the restaurant actually had the booking when we arrived for 9PM.

An auspicious beginning to the new year. Highly recommended.

WARNING! There is another restaurant of the same name on rue Bucci; just a bistro, and in no way related to this L'Atlas.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atlas also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing